قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / 10 New iOS 13 Privacy Settings Everybody Should Know and Check «iOS & iPhone :: Gadget Hacks

10 New iOS 13 Privacy Settings Everybody Should Know and Check «iOS & iPhone :: Gadget Hacks



Apple appears to have always made it a priority to show how important users' security and privacy are to them – enough to have a page dedicated to proclaiming that "privacy is a fundamental human right." , And it's true that in terms of technology, there are few issues that are more important than user privacy. Apple continues to support them with the release of iOS 13.

The latest version of iOS comes with a handful of new privacy and security features. These include better location tracking, anonymous logins, encrypted notes, limited microphone and camera permissions, and more. If privacy and security are important to you, you should review these new settings that come with iOS 1

3.

# 1: Improved location tracking

If you forget you've granted access to your app to an app, contact Apple. Now you'll be reminded by a pop-up notification asking if you have the Third-party app to continue to grant access to your location on iOS 13. Sometimes the pop-up contains a map of location points. While only two options appear in the popup that appears, you can tap Settings in the application to which you want to restrict access, and then tap Location.

Another new location tracking feature on iOS 13 includes the ability to give a third-party app access to your site only once (see "Ask Next Time" below). Instead of an app that tracks your real-time location, you can grant access to an app only if you want it.

# 2: Decline Bluetooth Access

Third-party apps Not only do they want access to Bluetooth because they want to connect to watches, speakers, and other devices, but also because they want to monitor your location. Shopping malls and retail stores use Bluetooth tracking devices called beacons to track you and send targeted ads to your phone. Similar to the site tracking popups mentioned above, you'll also see sporadic pop-ups on iOS 13 to deny Bluetooth access to certain apps.

# 3: Sign in with the Apple ID

Facebook and Twitter offer one-click signup for third-party apps and websites that allow you to sign up without leaving your email Enter address and password. However, your information (such as your e-mail address) will be shared with third parties, who will then sell that information to other companies for marketing and promotional purposes.

In response, Apple announced the message "Log in to Apple" while announcing the announcement for iOS 13. Although the feature is similar to its usual logins, Apple does not allow the site to track or store your user data, but provides the site at random generated e-mail address. The randomly generated address will instead forward messages to your actual email address.

To use this new Apple service, just tap "Sign in to Apple" when you see it. A window similar to the one displayed when you download a new app or make a purchase will appear. Decide if you want to use your name, select whether you want to share or hide your emails, and then click Next. The window then prompts you to log in using either the face ID or the Touch ID. Once you have done this, you are logged in and ready.

# 4: Remove location information from photos and videos

Each photo and Video you record with your iPhone includes metadata, dates and time, camera settings, thumbnails, and location. While this information helps you organize and find your most important photos, it can also be a problem. Anyone who has access to a photo you take may be able to extract the metadata and view your location. So, if you took a selfie at home, they might be able to get an address.

On iOS 13, you can now easily remove a person's location from photos and videos you take from your iPhone before you share them. In the photo app, open the picture or video you want to send and tap the sharing icon in the lower-right corner. At the top left of the photo you can see the position of the photo together with "Options". Tap Options and turn off Location to remove the metadata from the photo or video. If you send it now, the recipient will not be able to search your location.

# 6: Restrict Site Privileges in Safari

iOS 13 brings many changes and new features in Safari, including the ability to edit settings per site. If you want to deny a particular site access to your camera, microphone, or location (or all three), you can easily do so.

First, tap the "AA" icon on the left side of the address bar in Safari. Then tap "Site Settings" and then either Deny Allow or force the site to ask for access to the above device hardware or sensors. You can change these settings at any time while you are on the site.

If you do not remember which sites you made changes to You can display a list in the settings. All you need to do is go into "Safari" and scroll down until you see the "Camera", "Microphone" and "Location" options under the heading Site Settings . Visit one of the three settings to see which websites are restricted to access. You can change settings for a single website or for all from here.

# 7: Use the new Find My app to track your iPhone.

say goodbye to "Find My iPhone" and "Find My Friends". The two apps that track the location of specific iPhones are now combined into an app called Find My. If you have concerns about your privacy or security, you should not do so. If you use Find My, you can still track your lost or stolen smartphone.

Open Find My and locate the desired device to track from your list of devices. Touch the name of your device. This will display a menu in which you will: (1) play a sound from your device, (2) get directions to your device, (3) activate a notification when the device is found, (4) mark the device as Lost (which, among other things, will disable Apple Pay) and (5) all data will be deleted from your device.

# 8: Use the "Offline -Search "to track your stolen iPhone

Aside from the overhaul, the My Search application also offers some new features on iOS 13, including" Offline Search ", which allows your iPhone to use its Bluetooth signal to report their location to nearby Apple devices.

For example, if someone with the stolen iPhone turned off their mobile data and Wi-Fi, your device might still be tracking it if another Apple device (another iPhone Near your stolen iPhone, your device sends your public key to this device to send that encrypted location to the Apple servers Then you can sign in to Find My and track your iPhone.

Best of all, the system is fully encrypted so that hackers can not intercept the Bluetooth-transmitted location. Not even Apple can see your location. However, you must have two Apple devices signed in to your iCloud for this to work (and two-factor authentication), as only those devices contain the private key that you need to access your offline location.

The feature should be turned on By default, you can check this by going to the Settings app and tapping your name at the top. Next, go to "Find My" and then to "Find My iPhone." In the middle, the setting "Enable offline search" is displayed. If disabled, enable this option.

# 9: Blocking Unwanted Email in the Email App

Oddly enough, the email app has never been able to block contacts. If you receive a series of unsolicited or unknown emails, you can now block a specific sender and their emails. You can block a sender in several ways. The easiest way, however, is to open an email in the Mail app, tap the sender email (above) twice, and then double-click "Block this contact" when it appears. [19659045] 10 New iOS 13 Privacy Settings Everyone Should Know and Check ” width=”532″ height=”532″ style=”max-width:532px;height:auto;”/>

 10 New iOS 13 Privacy Settings Everybody Should Know and Check

A notification will appear at the top of the blocked email The inscription "This message" is displayed by a sender in your revocation list. "Tapping 'Settings' will take you to the Mail settings, where you can configure what happens to blocked emails, and your three options are (1) nothing, (2) marked as blocked, but in the Inbox leave and (3) move to the trash.

# 10: Third-party apps can not show notes in your contacts [19659004] While this is not a feature that you can enable or disable, it's good too Know that third-party apps that have access to your contacts can no longer see what contacts you've saved in the Notes fields, even though apps must ask for your permission before they access your contacts you can see pretty much everything … but not anymore – these notes are now encrypted on iOS 13.

Cover image and screenshots of Nelson Aguilar / Gadget Hacks

Source link