قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / Chromebook 101: Add another user to your Chromebook

Chromebook 101: Add another user to your Chromebook



Because Chromebooks are generally inexpensive and relatively sturdy, they are often bought as family laptops, shared by parents and children, or shared with friends. And since a Chromebook may have more than one user, it needs to have more than one login so that each user has access to their own personal apps and content.

Adding a new user to a Chromebook is not difficult. This is how it works:

  • Click the button in the lower right corner (which displays the time, the battery life, etc.).
  • Click the "Sign Out" window at the top of the popup.
  • You are returned to the login screen. Click the Add Person button at the bottom left of the screen.
  • Have the new user sign in with their Google Account (or they can create a new account if they do not have one). [1
    9659007] The account's bookmarks, history, passwords, and other settings are synchronized with the new device. If you would like to change any of these options, select the "Check sync options after setup" check box. Then click on "Accept and continue".
  • Okay, here are the Google Play Terms of Service. Read them, if you like, and approve them.
  • There is a check box that allows you to back up all your data in Google Drive. If you do not want this, clear the check box. You'll also be asked if you'd like to allow the system to use your location (you can also clear this checkbox) and check your Google Play options after setup.
  • Ready? Then click on "Accept".
  • At this point, you'll be asked if you'd like to connect the Chromebook to your phone so you can share your Internet connection with your computer (this is only available for certain phones and Chromebooks). , Text from your computer and unlock the Chromebook with your phone. You can click "Accept and continue" if you want to, or click "No thanks" if you prefer not to do this at this point.

And you're done! If you click on the login screen now, two names will be displayed. Each user has a separate account and has no access to the other.

When you stop sharing the Chromebook, you can simply remove a user:

  • Log out of your account to return to the login screen.
  • Click the down arrow next to the name of the person you want to remove from the computer.
  • Click "Remove This User" It was reminded that all items associated with this account, including files and local data, will be deleted.

Note that you can easily remove additional users added to a system from the root login screen, but not the "owner" of the Chromebook (the first person to create an account for it) without the system completely reset.

If you'd like to allow someone to use your Chromebook for just a few hours instead of a long period of time, it may be easier to just sign in as a guest:

  • Sign out of your account to re-open the login screen.
  • Click the "Search as Guest" button in the lower-left corner of the screen.
  • To exit guest mode, click Click on the "Time" button in the lower right corner of the screen, and then click on "End guest".

  http://www.theverge.com/ "data-upload-width =" 2040 "src =" https: // cdn.vox-cdn.com/thumbor/ifLo4sLjI_OrIwGIg72Q0RFeYvI=/0x0:2040x1360/1200x0/filter : focal (0x0: 2040x1360): no_upscale () / cdn.vox-cdn.com/uploads/cdn.vox-vox 53 / akrales_191003_3708_0027.jpg

Photo by Amelia Holowaty Krales / The Verge

In guest mode you can Browse, use Bluetooth, adjust the font size, etc., but do not save anything The computer and, when done, according to Google, your files, cookies, website data and browsing activities are automatically deleted.

Vox Media has affiliate partnerships. These do not affect editorial content, although Vox Media may earn commissions on products purchased through affiliate links. For more information, see of our Ethics Policy .


Source link