قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / Customize Gmail's swipe actions so they do not just "delete" and "archive". «Android :: Gadget Hacks

Customize Gmail's swipe actions so they do not just "delete" and "archive". «Android :: Gadget Hacks



For a while, Gmail had only one swipe gesture and could only do one of two things: archive or delete. Not that it's not useful – you can delete most spam emails in seconds by swiping left or right in your inbox. But now Google has finally added more custom actions to its swipe gestures.

With the latest Gmail update, you can now customize the swiping options. Not only can you choose between four new options, you can also choose another action to swipe left or right. Although I prefer to have both swipes set to delete emails, I am one in a million Gmail users. Many Gmail users have different settings and for the first time they have tools to address them.

Do Not Miss: More tips and tricks for using the Gmail app on Android

Step 1
: Install the latest version of Gmail

To access customizable swipes, you need to use your Google Update mail app to at least version 8.5.20. The update is now available in the Play Store. If you have not already done so, you can install it through the following link. If you're not sure, you can check which version you're using by going to Settings -> Apps and choosing Gmail. The second line under "App Details" contains the version number.

Step 2: Customizing Your Swipes

With the latest version installed, open Gmail and tap the Hamburger icon in the upper left corner of your screen. Select "Settings" and then "General Settings". Select "Swipe Actions" to display a new page where you can customize each swipe.

Select "Modify" (in the top right corner of each swipe) for the swipe you want first and call a pop menu with the new options. Next to "Archive" and "Delete" you can now select "Mark as read / unread", "Move to" and "Numb".

"Mark as read / unread" changes the e-mail address to the current option. Therefore, a read message is unread and an unread message is read.

"Move To" will prompt you with a pop-up window with all your current folders to quickly move the e-mail. The list of folders not only includes those created by Google (such as promotions and updates), but also any personal folders you create. The status of the e-mail (whether read or unread) remains unchanged, so only the location is transferred.

"Numbing" will remove the email from your inbox and later re-appear. You can view the email later that day, the next day, the next week, or the date and time that best suits you. However, if you need to read the message first, you can perform a search to find the e-mail.

With the new options, Google meets the needs of a higher percentage of its users. We are no longer limited to "archiving" and "deleting", which is not ideal for everyone. Instead, some more tools are just a caressing unit.

Cover image and screenshots of Jon Knight / Gadget Hacks

Source link