قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / Deleting your Siri voice recordings from Apple's servers is confusing – that's how it's done

Deleting your Siri voice recordings from Apple's servers is confusing – that's how it's done



Last night, Apple and Google discontinued its program of graders listening to users' voice commands recorded by their voice assistant. Apple has not indicated if it was actually stopped or not, if these records are still taking place. I asked and did not receive a clear answer.

Despite Apple's well-deserved reputation for privacy, the actual controls that users use to manage their data settings are sometimes faint, opaque, or absent. That's ironic because Apple has a much better selection of standard technologies and policies in terms of user data. In general, Apple does not want you to have your data and make it easier for you to stop sharing it with others.

This problem of storing Siri records on servers ̵

1; even if it is anonymous – has revealed a new problem that Apple's handling needs to be improved as more and more businesses shift to services. Because Apple does not submit user data, the company does not have the same experience that Google, Amazon, and even Facebook have about giving users control over the data they collect and that's certainly not the case have the same experience in dealing with privacy concerns when they occur.

Amazon, Google, and even Facebook each have a specific website that you can access. Check the privacy settings for their assistants, delete data, and generally get information about what each company knows about you. Here they are written out with the full URL (you should not blindly click on a link to go directly to your account settings):

We have written instructions with more detailed instructions on how to delete your data from both Google websites Wizard and Amazon Alexa ,

Apple does not provide a privacy portal site for your Siri data or a specific settings screen to fix in an app. The General Privacy Page contains a number of very clear explanations about Apple's policies, but does not contain specific information about your data or checkboxes for deletion. You can only download or delete all data from the Apple website.

This is partly due to Apple's relatively unique, device-oriented infrastructure. It's harder for Apple to create a web-based privacy portal when the company is so focused on storing data on discrete devices.

Still, Amazon and Google make it relatively easy to disable voice recording for their assistants through the links above. However, this may affect some functions. Apple does not even offer the option of using Siri without your voice being stored on its servers. Apple emphasizes that your recorded utterances are not linked to your Apple account. However, this is a comfort if you are really worried that a human contractor may be hearing private information that the HomePod will inadvertently hear in your home.

It gets worse: While you can erase your comments from Apple's servers, the process is so completely unintuitive that you may only be able to learn Google, how this works and find an article like this.

It's possible that the future update it promised last night will allow you to use Siri without your voice being stored on Apple servers. However, please read the Apple statement carefully and you will notice that the opt-out for the "rating" and not necessarily for the recording will apply: "In addition, users will Updates the opportunity to opt for participation. " grading.

Apple's latest iOS security guide is a master class that teaches both consumers and security professionals how to keep an operating system private. For more information about the Data Retention Policy for your voice recordings, see page 69.

User voice memos are stored for a period of six months so that the recognition system can use them to better understand the user's voice. After six months, another unencoded copy will be stored and used by Apple to enhance and develop Siri for a period of up to two years. A small selection of recordings, transcripts, and related data with no identifier may be used by Apple even after two years for the continuous improvement and quality assurance of Siri. In addition, some records relating to music, sports teams and players, as well as companies or special destinations, are stored in a similar manner to improve Siri.

"What happens on your iPhone stays on your iPhone" apparently became "What's happening on Siri stays on Apple's servers, possibly forever".

How to Delete Your Voice Recordings from Apple's Servers


  Homepod in a Room

Photo by James Bareham / The Verge

How to Delete Your Recorded Voice Memos on an iPhone – However, You Must Have Similar Operations on Every Apple Repeat device that you own. You will erase all information that Apple receives from Siri, including the records of your vote. However, this does not happen through the "Privacy" section in your settings. Instead, do the following:

  • Go to Settings> Siri & Search
  • Disable all ways to enable Siri. There are two options: "Listen to" Hey Siri "and" Press the Side Key for Siri. "
  • Turning off the last path to turn on Siri effectively turns off Siri and warns you to get one more You need to follow this step to clear your data from the Apple servers.
  • Go to Settings> General> Keyboard. Scroll down until you see "Enable dictation." If you see this Uncheck option will warn you that if you ever want to use it again, you will have to re-upload it.

You may have wondered why I'm so skeptical that Apple has a problem here, but think about how weird the above steps really are, which are dark patterns across several n Levels.

First, the "Privacy" section of the iPhone settings has nothing to do with deleting your Siri data. Second, when disabling Siri, not only must you clear the "Use Siri" checkbox, but also disable the seemingly different options for enabling Siri. Third, and most outrageous, there's no way to know that disabling these options will cause you to erase data that Apple may not want. To find out, click on the "Our approach to privacy" link on the Apple Privacy page or, as mentioned above, google it.

And even if you go through all this, here is the kicker: You must do this Carry out all these steps on all Apple devices to clear the data from Siri. However, if you re-enable Siri or Dictation, data logging restarts.


Source link