قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / Enable DFU Mode on your iPhone 11, 11 Pro or 11 Pro Max «iOS & iPhone :: Gadget Hacks

Enable DFU Mode on your iPhone 11, 11 Pro or 11 Pro Max «iOS & iPhone :: Gadget Hacks



Apple's innovations often include more take-away than adding. The company has released seven iPhones that omit the Home button. This is the latest version, which includes the iPhone 11, 11 Pro and 11 Pro Max. If you've recently selected one of these devices for the first time, you may be confused as to how to switch to DFU mode when your iPhone is active.

DFU stands for "Device Firmware Upgrade". The DFU mode is not used lightly. Instead, it's usually the last chance to bring a bricked or otherwise disturbed iPhone back to life. For the occasional iPhone hiccup often just a simple restart or reset. However, DFU can be a powerful tool if your iOS device requires something stronger.

Even though your iPhone may be brand new, the hidden DFU code is not. Apple has used the same keyboard shortcut to switch to DFU mode since iPhone 8, 8 Plus, and X. However, if you come from an iPhone 7 or earlier, this new keyboard shortcut is more complicated than before.

Requirements

Warning ̵
1; You are about to lose everything.

You read that right. In DFU mode, your iPhone data is erased and the disk clearing is completed. If you want to save your photos, text, documents, or other data, you must first back up them using iTunes or iCloud. If your iPhone is not currently on, this is obviously an impossible step. However, if you switched from an active iPhone to DFU mode, you can cancel the operation using the method that you prefer before restoring and updating.

Step 1: Connect your iPhone to your Mac or PC

Connect Connect your iPhone to your Mac or PC with your Lightning to USB or Lightning to USB-C cable.

Step 2: Unlock Your iPhone (If Needed) If you use the "Accessories" notification on your device, you must first unlock your iPhone before you can proceed.

Step 3: Trust your computer (if necessary) When you connect the iPhone to this computer, you may need to trust the computer on your iPhone. You can unsecure the computer after following these steps.

Step 4: Open iTunes (or Finder on macOS Catalina)

If you're running something other than macOS Catalina, iTunes should open automatically. If it does not, open it yourself and see if your iPhone is connected. Your iPhone icon should appear in iTunes next to the Media drop-down list next to the Devices sidebar.

If you are running macOS Catalina, open the Finder and select your iPhone at Locations . If you do not have menu Locations in your Finder sidebar, click "Finder" in the menu bar at the top of the screen, choose "Settings," and open the sidebar . Click the tab and check the box next to "CDs, DVDs, and iOS devices."

If you click on your iPhone in the Catalina sidebar on the "Places" menu Finder should automatically open the "General" tab. If not, open this tab yourself. If your iPhone is not displayed, restarting your Mac should force the display.

Step 5: Start your iPhone in DFU mode.

Perform the following key presses while your iPhone is connected to iTunes or Finder:

  1. Briefly press the Volume up key .
  2. Briefly press the Volume Down key .
  3. Hold down the Page key . until the screen turns black.
  4. Release page button as soon as the screen turns black, and then hold …
  5. Briefly press Page and Press together for 5 seconds.
  6. Release the page button after 5 seconds without releasing the volume .
  7. Continue to hold down the
  8. key. Silence Button for at least 5 seconds.

Do not let go until a recovery prompt appears in iTunes or Finder. Once this is the case, release the volume down button and look at the display on your iPhone. If your screen is black, congratulations! You are now in DFU mode. If this prompt does not appear in macOS Catalina, click on the iPhone tab and then return. After some time, Finder should display the prompt.

Troubleshooting

If your iPhone restarts or "Connect to iTunes" appears on the screen, go to step 1 back and try again. Make sure you perform each step up to a T – even a slight deviation can prevent your iPhone from successfully entering DFU mode.

Exiting the DFU Mode

Whether you want to back up your iPhone before you restore the device, or you just accidentally entered the DFU mode, there is an easy way to reverse the course and the device to restart. The prerequisite is, of course, that your device is switched on before you switch to DFU mode.

To exit DFU mode:

  1. Press and release the volume up key.
  2. Briefly press the volume down button.
  3. Hold down Hold down the side key for at least 10 seconds until the Apple Home screen appears.

If the process is completed properly, your iPhone should be restarted on iOS 12 or iOS 13. All you have to do is enter your passcode first. Continue with the home screen.

Step 6: Erase and Restore Your iPhone

After successfully launching your iPhone in DFU mode and no longer wanting to quit, you can click OK to close it. Open the iTunes Recovery Prompt and reset restore to factory settings. In iTunes or the Finder, choose "Restore iPhone" in iPhone Recovery Mode . After a successful recovery, your iPhone 11, 11 Pro or 11 Pro Max will automatically exit DFU mode and start the familiar splash screen for the new iPhone.

Cover image and screenshots of Jake Peterson / Gadget Hacks

Source link