Zombie apps are a real problem for iPhones ($ 1,000 on Amazon) of each strip. This happens when you delete an app just to restore your last backup or connect your iPhone to iTunes, and lo and behold, the app reappears on your home screen. What's happening?
What happens if Apple's online storage service does not completely remove the app data when you back up your iPhone on iCloud just in case you have it installed on another iOS device? For example, you can remove Facebook from your iPhone, but leave it on your iPad ($ 280 on Amazon) .
But maybe you can remove this app. Here are these steps to permanently delete an app from all your devices.
Start with your iPhone or iPad
Step 2 : Tap the X in the upper left corner of the app.
Step 3 : A box appears displaying "Delete [name of app]". Deleting this app also deletes your data. Tap Delete .
Step 4 : Tap Done (for iPhone X ($ 950 at Best Buy). and higher) or press the Home button (for iPhone 8 ($ 640 at Walmart) or earlier.]
Read: How to Secure Your iPhone Before Installing iOS 12
Deleting the iCloud App
Step 1 : Go to Settings and tap on your profile (Surname).
Step 2 : Tap iCloud.
Step 3 : Tap Manage Storage. This screen shows your current iCloud storage available.
Step 4 : Select backups from the list. You will see all devices currently using iCloud backup storage.
Step 5 : Select the currently used iPhone. Note: "This iPhone" is displayed.
Step 6 : Select Data to Back Up displays a small list of apps. Touch Show all apps.
Step 7 : Search for the app or apps you want to permanently delete and move the white dot to the left so that the color changes from green to white.
Step 8 : A window will appear asking "Do you want to disable [selected app] backups and delete backup data from iCloud?" Tap Turn off and delete.
Your apps will now be permanently deleted from your iPhone (and other iOS devices) and will not be downloaded again when you sync your device with iTunes.
What if I delete an app that I paid for?
If you delete an app you've purchased and decide you want it back, you can always go back to the App Store and re-download the app at no extra cost. It's yours for life.
CNET may receive a commission from retailers.