قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / Hide in Google Maps to keep your navigation history secret

Hide in Google Maps to keep your navigation history secret



  google-maps-2

You can now enable incognito when using Google Maps.


Angela Lang / CNET

Google has launched an incognito mode feature that lets you launch the Maps app MIA. In other words, you can use Maps without others seeing where you are going. This can be useful when shopping for a birthday or planning a surprise meeting. In incognito mode, Maps will not save any of the places you search if you share your device, location, or Google Account with loved ones.

Digital privacy has become a top priority given the growing concern that human movements are being tracked and recorded on their cell phones . More than ever, organizations are responding to user demands by implementing tools that allow customers to regain control of their privacy.

Incognito mode for Google Maps will launch on Android phones this month, so you may not be able to see it properly yet. Google says it will "come soon" to iPhones ($ 699 at Apple) although we have no exact date. Here's how to use incognito on Google Maps and everything we know about the new feature.


Google

Enabling and disabling incognito mode

1. Open the Google Maps app on your Android phone.

. 2 Touch your profile icon in the top right corner.

. 3 Select Enable incognito mode .

. 4 When you are ready to disable the setting, follow the same instructions as above and select Disable Incognito Mode .

  http://www.cnet.com/ "height =" 110 "width =" 196


Currently playing:
Watching:

Incognito mode will be activated in Google Maps



2:58

What happens if you are in incognito mode?

If you use incognito mode, Google will not save your Maps activity to your Google Account and will not display a list of personalized recommendations. For example, if you are looking for a café or restaurant, this information will not be stored as long as you are incognito. In addition, you will not see information about your shuttle service (eg how long it takes to get home or to work).

If you are incognito, Maps does not update your Location History or your shared location. If you share your location with a relative or friend, they will not be able to see where you are when the setting is on.

  incognito "height =" 0 "width =" 370 "data-original =" 370

Your profile icon changes to the incognito icon.


Screenshot by Katie Conner / CNET

What incognito mode does not do

Google notes that enabling incognito mode does not affect how your activities are used or stored by Internet service providers, other apps, voice searches, and other Google services. In Incognito mode, your location information will remain private only for shared users. Google Maps browsing history does not necessarily have to be hidden from other websites.

What is not available when Incognito is enabled?

  • Commute
  • For you (personalized recommendations)
  • Location History for your entire device [19659028] Location Sharing
  • Notifications and Messages
  • Search history
  • Suggestions to complete the search
  • Google Maps posts
  • Google assistant microphone in navigation
  • Offline maps
  • Your places
  • Media integration (music playback like Spotify and Apple Music)

Need more Google Maps tips? Take a look at these four hidden Google Maps tricks that you need to know, and how to avoid speed cameras with Google Maps .

Originally released earlier this week.


Source link