قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to block ad tracking on your iPhone

How to block ad tracking on your iPhone



A recent article in The Washington Post by Geoffrey Fowler described the shock of the author when he discovered how many of his iPhone apps collected and uploaded information about his use while he slept ,

As we all now know, data today is a huge asset. If you're using a phone, laptop, or other computing device (unless you're a security expert or a high-end hacker with access to sophisticated blocking tools), you pay for your apps by adding marketing and other information the companies that supply them.

As Fowler's article shows, iPhone users are not immune to it, no matter how much Apple assures their customers they care about their privacy. However, there are a few simple ways to minimize the amount of tracking that app providers can access and the amount of data they can access.

Enable Limit Ad Tracking

You may not be able to completely remove ads, but you may provide the advertiser with as little information as possible about you. With Limit Ad Tracking (LAT), the Kibosh will run on interest-based ads, which are targeted to you based on your search history and other usage statistics. Turn it off, and you may get ads that are totally inappropriate for your needs, but at least marketers will not bombard you with pet ads if you've just bought a poodle.


  iphone limit tracking


  iphone limit tracking

  • Go to Settings
  • Select "Privacy"
  • Select "Advertising" (at the bottom of the settings screen)
  • Enable "Limit Ad Tracking"

LAT is not perfect. Marketers can also use a system called fingerprinting that logs information about your device type, model, vendor, and other data published by your browser. Fingerprints are not as useful to marketers as tracking ads, but still provide a lot of interesting information. Apple has been working to block some of this information, but much of it is still available.

If you want to see how effective LAT protects your phone, you can perform the Panopticlick Test offered by Electronic Frontier Foundation. It monitors, among other things, the fingerprint of devices. I ran it after turning on LAT on an Apple iPhone XS and got a "partial protection" result.

Lock Safari

When you use the Safari browser on your iPhone, you can take various measures to increase security.


  Lock Safari


  Lock Safari

  • Go to "Settings"
  • Select "Safari" and scroll down to the "Privacy and Security" section.
  • Check "Cross-Site". Prevent tracking "(ie advertisers and other third party content providers can not track you from one place to another)
  • Enable" Block all cookies. "Cookies collected by various websites may contain a variety of information about them By blocking cookies, you prevent this data from being collected.

However, you'll probably be very uncomfortable about it, as your visits to websites are not recorded, so you For example, you might not be able to recall a playlist or buy the same T-shirt you bought last year. Some websites even deny access if you do not allow them to collect cookies. You have the choice.

Disable background app update

According to Apple, the reason for the background app update is that paused apps (apps that are currently inactive) can search for updates and new content According to Disconnect, privacy -App company Geoffrey Fowler cited in his article, apps can then collect marketable tracking data and transfer this data if you do not use the app. Interestingly enough, iPhones are shipped with background app updating enabled, but turning them off is not particularly difficult.

  • Switch to "Settings"
  • Select "General"
  • Select "Update background app"
  • A list of all apps will be displayed use and they will all be on. At the top of the page, search for "app refresh in the background" and tap it.
  • You will be redirected to a page where you can enable it for Wi-Fi and cellular data, just for Wi-Fi or for you can turn it off altogether. Choose".
  • If you go back to the previous page, you'll find that all the switching opportunities for the various apps have disappeared.

You may want to choose which apps can run in the background. Otherwise, some apps may not work properly. For example, Google Photos automatically backs up your camera roll only when this feature is turned on. So if you want, you can enable the "Background app update" option and then choose which specific apps you want to disable.

Vox Media has affiliate partnerships. These do not affect editorial content, although Vox Media may earn commissions on products purchased through affiliate links. For more information, see of our Ethics Policy .


Source link