Your Google history is mostly a binary choice – either fully enable it and use it all while Google records your activity, or turn it off. With Google, you can now automatically delete your history so you can take full advantage of the benefits of recording your history while enjoying a degree of privacy.
While this is a big deal for all Google users, it's best to make the most of the changes if you're a Google Home and Google Assistant user. These features assume that Web and App Activity is turned on to be really useful. This means that, for example, browsing, search and location history are recorded. If you are someone who enjoys his privacy, this can be a difficult compromise. You can rest assured that Google will delete your recorded data as many times as you have set.
The feature will be slowly transferred to devices in the coming weeks, according to Google. Once the feature appears on your device, it works as follows. First, go to My Activity from any device and sign in with your Google Account. Under "Web and App Activity" (or "Location History" if you only want to automatically delete location data), tap "Select for auto-delete." Then select one of three time intervals: "Keep until I manually delete", "Keep 1
Selecting either of the two options "Preserve 18 months" or "3 Keep months ". Google will show you a preview of the data you lose as you make your selections. If you select "Preserve 18 months", you will be notified that data older than 18 months will be deleted immediately. If you choose Keep 3 months, this alert will be displayed for data older than three months. If you agree with your selection, tap "Confirm".
On the following page, all you have to do is tap "Understood" if you know that Google is regularly deleting data as your selection gets older.