قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to delete your YouTube history automatically

How to delete your YouTube history automatically



  YouTube Logo

Google now offers a tool to automatically delete your search and activity history from YouTube. By default, your data is stored forever, but it can be deleted from Google's servers every 3 or 18 months.

Similar auto-delete settings are available for your location log, as well as for your "Web & App History." Not just privacy settings: If you choose to periodically delete your history, Google will not use the deleted YouTube history to Personalize your video recommendations.

Automatically clear history from YouTube Mobile App

You can set auto-clear history directly in your smartphone or tablet. This is convenient as more than 50 percent of all YouTube viewers are on the mobile apps of the video service.

First, open the "YouTube" app on your device. If you can not find it on your home screen or in the app tray, iPhone and iPad owners can search the app with Apple's Spotlight search, and Android users can use the Google search bar.

 Select YouTub Mobile App

Then tap your account avatar in the upper-right corner of the app.

 Select Avatar in the upper-right corner of the YouTube Mobile app.

Scroll down the list and select the "Preferences" option.

 Select Settings in YouTube Mobile App

Scroll down to the History and Privacy section. Select the "Manage all activities" option.

 Select Manage All Activities in YouTube Mobile App

You should now be on the YouTube History page. Touch "Auto-delete" directly above the list of previously watched YouTube videos.

(If you do not want to save a history at all, you can tap "Change setting" under "YouTube history is enabled" to pause YouTube. Keep track of videos you've seen and searched.)

 Select "Auto-delete" in YouTube Mobile App.

Now choose how long you want to keep your YouTube history. By default, your history will only be deleted if you do it manually. You can change this setting to have YouTube automatically delete the history older than 18 months or three months.

After making a selection, tap the Next button.

 Choose how long you want to keep YouTube history on mobile app, then select Next

The YouTube History Activity page explains what your decision means. It also lists some video history examples that are automatically deleted.

 Reading Your Favorite Settings in the YouTube Mobile App

Tap "Save" to save the YouTube History auto-setting. [19659003]   On the mobile YouTube app, tap Verify.

Automatically clear history from my Google activity.

To automatically delete your YouTube history from your desktop or mobile browser, visit the YouTube History Web site. Make sure you're signed in to the Google Account associated with your YouTube account.

Alternatively, you can visit the My Google Activities web site and manually navigate to the YouTube History section.

 My Google Activities Landing Page

If you jumped directly to the YouTube History Web site, skip the next two steps. Follow these instructions if you have visited the "My Google Activities" website.

Click the "Activity Control" option in the navigation menu on the left.

Note: Click the Hamburger menu icon in the upper left corner to expand the page menu if it is hidden.

 My Google Activity Click Activity Control

Scroll down to the "YouTube History" block and select "Manage Activity" option.

(Do not want to save a history at all? You can disable the "YouTube history" option here to prevent YouTube from saving a history, or simply check the "Include YouTube videos" or "Use your searches on YouTube" checkbox to prevent YouTube from viewing your watch – and search history data.)

 My Google Activity Click

On the YouTube History Web site, click "Select" to automatically delete "loc The field displays the number of historical data to be deleted.

 My Google Activity Click Clear Automatically

. You can choose how long the YouTube history should be kept. By default, your history will only be deleted if you do it manually. You can change this setting to have YouTube automatically delete the history older than 18 months or three months.

After making a selection, tap the Next button.

 My Google Activity Select YouTube History Period Click Next

You will be asked to confirm your selection. YouTube also provides examples of some of the videos that are deleted from your history.

Click the "Confirm" button to save the YouTube History auto-setting.

 My Google Activity Click Confirm [19659003] In the future, it would be nice if YouTube added an option to either adjust the time before auto-deleting history or add a daily limit. In the meantime, you can always go back to the YouTube History page and clean up the slate manually.

RELATED: Google announces incognito mode for maps and other privacy features


Source link