قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to disable Snapchat's Snap Map

How to disable Snapchat's Snap Map



Snapchat's Snap Map, which allows users to access public posts associated with specific locations, came in for obvious criticism at its first release in 2017. Although the feature was originally marketed as a way to display posts in Our Story – something that has proved useful after Hurricane Harvey – the fact that the app shared your location whenever you opened it was somehow swept under the carpet ,

In addition to the obvious dangers, this feature could mean for younger users or those unfamiliar with the ways of locating who really wants their friends (or parents in this case) to know where they are to be at any time? Many users probably activated the feature the first time they posted in Our Story, without knowing exactly how much access they gave the app. Luckily, we've explained how to disable the capture map shown below and how to restrict who can see your location if you want to keep it activated.

How does Snap Map work?

If so If you enable this feature, your location will be updated each time you open Snapchat on the snap map. Accurate location data is only displayed for a short time, but general location data can be stored longer (although it is unclear exactly how exactly these time periods are). When you tap a friend's bitmoji on the map, you'll see when the location was last updated. This also reflects the last time they opened the app, and they can do the same for you. Locations stay on the map for up to eight hours, provided you do not reopen the app during that time. If more than eight hours have elapsed since the app was last opened, your location will disappear from the map until the next time.

You can also tap on hotspots, colorful dots on the map, view activities, tap to see the public posts in this area. You can also enlarge and reduce the map like any dedicated navigation app. You can see sponsored events or reportable stories with a brief description next to them that you can click to access assigned snaps.

Enabling Ghost Mode

If you do not know that your friends always know exactly where you are ( and who?), you can enable Ghost mode, which prevents your location from being updated on the map. You can still post on Our Story with Ghost Mode enabled, but it gives you the peace of mind that not everyone follows you every time you move. And so goes:

Step 1: Open Snapchat

First, launch the Snapchat app on your iPhone, iPad or Android device. If you are not already logged in, enter your email address and password before opening the camera area of ​​the app.

Step 2: Find the snap map

Press the snap map to the center of the screen with two fingers

Step 3: Open the settings and turn on Ghost mode

To To access your settings, click the gear icon in the upper right corner of the screen. Then, switch the slide next to Ghost mode, which should be the first object in the resulting list.

If Ghost Mode is turned on, your friends will not be able to see your location on the map. You can still see your own avatar, but he'll have a blue Snapchat logo in front of his face to indicate that other users can not see him. Keep in mind that you can deactivate the Ghost mode at any time by following the same steps.

Editing Your Privacy Settings

If you look at at regular intervals about your location, you can restrict the disk space of individuals who have access to your data. In Ghost mode in your settings, you'll find a section entitled Who can see my location . Whichever option has a blue check mark is the option you have just selected. My friends apply to all the users you've added to Snapchat and you've also added. My friends, except you can select specific friends to hide your location from, and Only these friends can select the common friends who have access to your location information. [19659006] Choose the option that makes you feel better, or follow the steps above to prevent your location from being completely shared.






Source link