قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to erase your old MacBook before you sell it

How to erase your old MacBook before you sell it



Tried a new MacBook Air ? Before you sell your old Mac on to sell it you must migrate its data to your new Mac and clean it up. Learn how to remove all traces of your data and restore your old Mac to its factory defaults.


Now playing:
Note the following:

The MacBook Air 2018 now has a Retina display



5:09

Logging Out of Your Accounts

After you've migrated your data to your new Mac or made a recent backup to to get your data, it's time to remove all traces of yourself , First, you'll need to sign out of all your accounts, especially iTunes, so you can use the app on just five computers.

First of all: iTunes. Open iTunes and go to Account> Permissions> Deauthorize This Computer . You must enter your Apple ID and password and then press the Deauthorize button.

Next: iCloud. Go to System Settings> iCloud and click the Logout button. You'll be asked if you want to keep a copy of your iCloud data on your Mac. However, it does not matter how you answer, since you will delete everything immediately anyway. The important thing is that you are logged out. Rest assured, the data you have saved with iCloud will be retained.

Next: News. Open the News app, go to Messages> Preferences and click Accounts . Select your iMessage account, and then click Log Out .

Bluetooth Pairing

If you pass your old Mac to your child or another person in your home, it is a good idea to pair all Bluetooth devices from there, so your mouse or keyboard will be your new one Mac controls and does not affect the old one. Go to System Settings> Bluetooth Hover your mouse over the device you want to disconnect, click the X button to the right of its name, and click Remove . [19659011] Reset to factory settings

You must put your MacBook ($ 1,249 on Amazon) into recovery mode to erase all your data and reinstall MacOS. To enter the recovery mode, restart your Mac and immediately press Command-R . You can release the buttons when you see the Apple logo.

  Macos High Sierra Disk Utility Erase Internal Drive

Apple

Next, you'll see the MacOS Utilities window. Select Disk Utility click Continue and select the startup disk. If you have not renamed it, the odds are probably Macintosh HD or something similar. Next, click the Erase button at the top of the Disk Utility window and complete the following three fields:

  • Name: Choose a name for the new, new volume. Why not with the proven Macintosh HD ?
  • Format: Select either APFS or Mac OS Extended (Journaled) . The newer APFS is best for solid-state drives, and Mac OS Extended (journaled) is best for older, mechanical hard drives.
  • Scheme: Select GUID Partition Card click Erase and after Disk Utility has completed its task, quit Disk Utility ,

    You should return to the MacOS utility window. (If it does not, restart your Mac while holding down the Command-R key.) In the MacOS Utilities window, select . Reinstall MacOS and follow the instructions for installing the operating system. After reinstalling MacOS, you will be greeted by the setup wizard, which you can quit and finish your Mac. It is now ready for a reboot with the next owner.

    New iPad pros, new MacBooks and more: Everything Apple has just announced.

    Apple's latest MacBook Air: All the details for the sleek new laptop.


Source link