قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to hide, unfriend, or block someone on Facebook

How to hide, unfriend, or block someone on Facebook



Nowadays it is no longer surprising if a friend or acquaintance suddenly scolds your Facebook feed. It can be triggered by anything from a politician’s tweet to a movie spoiler to the type of mask someone is wearing (or whether they even wear one).

If someone has crossed what you think is a line on your Facebook feed, there are a number of methods that you can use to get their posts – or them – out of sight. You can unfriend them, block them, doze off (so you don’t see them for 30 days), or just hide one of their entries. Here is an overview of how this can be achieved.

Note: All of these instructions apply to the “new” version of Facebook on your desktop.

Hide a post

Let̵

7;s say someone else you like writes an enthusiastic review of a movie you absolutely loathe. Since you are friends, it will show up on your timeline. You really don’t want your other friends to read this so– Wrong rating. Don’t sweat! It’s easy to hide that one post so it just doesn’t show up on your timeline. (It will still appear on the timeline of the person who wrote it, of course, but there is nothing you can do about it.)

Just click on the three dots in the top right of the entry. You can hide that particular post or “fall asleep” the person who created the post for 30 days. You can also unfollow the person, which means that you will no longer see their entries on your timeline but not make them more unfriendly.

Note: If you hide a post and then change your mind, you can find it again, although it should take some time:

  • Click the arrow in the top right corner of your Facebook page
  • Go to Settings & Privacy> Activity Log.
  • Look for “Filters” in the left column (it’s a little blue link in the top right corner of the column) and click on it
  • Scroll down and select “Hidden from Timeline”. Click Save Changes”.
  • You should see the hidden posts in the left column. Hover over the entry you want to unhide, click the three dots, and you should be able to restore it.

Unfriend someone

You have befriended someone who you thought was nice, but it turns out that your policies or attitudes towards cat videos or endless posts about obscure horror movies are driving you crazy. Hiding the occasional mail won’t do it for you. You want to unfriend her.

It is not difficult:

  • Go to their profile (you can either click on their profile photo or search for their name)
  • Click the Person icon (next to the Message button).
  • Choose Unfriend> Confirm.

According to Facebook, the person you didn’t befriend will not be notified that you didn’t befriend them. However, you will no longer be there her Friends list to let them know you’re gone. If you change your mind, you will have to go through the normal “friendship” process again.

Block someone

Sometimes there is no getting around it – someone has really offended you, and you don’t want them on your timeline anytime, anywhere. In that case, it’s time to block them.

If you block someone, they can’t just post on your timeline. They can’t see anything you post on your timeline, tag you, send you an invite, try to befriend you, or start a conversation with you. And if you are already friends with them, you will also make them more unfriendly.

To block someone:

  • Click the arrow in the top right corner of your Facebook page
  • Click on “Settings & Privacy”> “Settings”.
  • Look for “Block” in the left column and select “Block”
  • Find the Block User section in the middle of the page and type the person’s name – or part of their name – in the Block User field
  • A list of names that match what you entered is displayed. Find the person you want to block and click the “Block” button next to their name.

If you change your mind, unblocking someone is relatively easy. Go back to the Block Users section and under the Block Users box you will see a list of all the people you have blocked. Just click the “Unlock” button next to their name.


Source link