قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to Prevent Your iPhone from Transferring Photos to Others «iOS & iPhone :: Gadget Hacks

How to Prevent Your iPhone from Transferring Photos to Others «iOS & iPhone :: Gadget Hacks



Each photo you take contains metadata such as the iPhone model, date and time, shooting modes, focal length, shutter speed, flash usage, and location information. Sharing these pictures with friends, family or acquaintances via text, e-mail, or other direct sharing method, and unintentionally sharing your location information. Even sharing through apps and social media sites can compromise your privacy.

This metadata is called EXIF ​​data and contains a lot of identifying information, the most important being geo coordinates. Share a photo with this geocoded information for people you know, or even online for masses of strangers, and someone can use the data to find out where you live, work, or are common.

EXIF ​​data is actually something that professional photographers always want to be included in pictures ̵

1; even on social media – as this contributes to the protection of copyright. For the rest of us, it's probably a much better option to either remove or change the location data or block the metadata from the first record to prevent anyone from finding your whereabouts. We can help you with this.

Method 1: Disable Location Services

By default, your iPhone uses a GPS system to determine the exact or approximate location of your device, and then embeds that information in all the photos you take. With geotags embedded in your images, you can easily find and organize photos on your iPhone or computer . You can also tag location details on social media sites if you want to let users know where you are.

However, these benefits can be problematic if your photos fall into the wrong hands. Let's say you meet somebody in a dating app and exchange some pictures with sms. While this may seem innocent, the photos you share could send you your location. If the photos were taken at your home, the recipient could use software to determine where you live. Below you can see how I saved a photo that was sent to me, and then saw the location of the shot.

If you do not want any of your iPhone photos tagged with your location data, you can do so Disable the Location Services setting for your camera app or for third-party camera apps like Huji-Cam, Halide Camera, Flickr, Camera + and Focos. Go to Settings -> Privacy -> Location Services. Then tap the camera app for which you want to change the settings, and tap Never to prevent your photos (and videos) from being tagged with your location when you take them.

Below is a photo with the GPS data enabled (left) and another photo with the feature disabled (right). Instead of the position displayed in the photo app at the top of the photo, the date and time of the shot is simply displayed.

Method 2: Take a Screenshot of a Photo

If You do not want to disable GPS access for your camera app, but still want to have the ability to remove location metadata from a photo. Just take a screenshot from case to case. This not only removes the location but also changes the date and time when you take the screenshot.

Below is a photo that I took in Berlin in October and is displayed in the photo app. At the top of the photo is the position, and when I swipe up in the photo, I can see the photo on a map to take a closer look at the place where it was taken.

When I scan the original image, the location, date, and time are deleted. When I swipe the image up in photos, the map no longer appears, only related photos are displayed. However, this process has some disadvantages:

Method 3: Removing or changing the location of the photo [19659005] Koredoko, a free iOS application from Norio Kawabata, lets you view the EXIF ​​data of any photo, including the location. If you do not want to lose the resolution (as in a screenshot), you can remove the location of a photo with this app.

Open Koredoko, tap the three-stroke menu at the bottom left and locate the image you want to remove the location from. Select the photo. It will appear on a map and show you where it was taken. Tap the info button (i), press the release button on the top right, and select "Share without metadata." You can then save the photo or share it with another app without an embedded location.

If removing the location from a photo is not enough, you can Change the place where the photo was taken anywhere in the world with Koredoko. To change the location, hold down the photo and drag it to another location.

Method 4: Upload to EXIF ​​Stripping Sites

Tue e previous methods are designed to protect your privacy when you share images via text messages, e-mail, or a similar platform. What happens when uploading? For image hosting websites or social media applications?

If you upload a photo to on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat, Messenger, WhatsApp, eBay, Imgur, and Craigslist, the metadata will be deleted as soon as it is published. These sites use this information to help you with site features, such as: For example, to mark your location. However, if the conversion starts and is uploaded to the site, the data is deleted.

Services you need to be more careful with Google+ Dropbox, Flickr, Lightroom, Google Photos, and Tumblr. These sites are examples where all metadata is preserved so other users can either see location data for the image directly in the service or use an EXIF ​​display app to download.

Do not miss: 7 privacy tips for photos and videos on your iPhone

Cover pictures and screenshots of Nelson Aguilar / Gadget Hacks

Source link