قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to record videos with two cameras simultaneously on your iPhone «iOS & iPhone :: Gadget Hacks

How to record videos with two cameras simultaneously on your iPhone «iOS & iPhone :: Gadget Hacks



The iPhone 11, 11 Pro and 11 Pro Max have introduced a new rear view camera system into the iOS ecosystem. In addition to the wide-angle lens, each model has a new ultra-wide-angle lens, and the professionals have a telephoto lens. Both have also improved selfie cams. With so many lenses, it can be difficult to choose which lens to film with. But why should you choose when you want to take photos with two at the same time?

Enter "DoubleTake" from FiLMiC Inc. If you recognize this name, you've probably used the paid video recording app FiLMiC Pro. The company was fresh in the iPhone 11 scene and announced an exciting way to capture video from multiple cameras at the same time before iOS 1

3 was released. It took about four months to complete the function, but here we are.

Step 1: Install and activate permissions

The first is the first: It's not just for the iPhone 11 series . If you have an iPhone X S X S Max or X R you can also jump into the dual-cam recording. This makes sense, since the A12 Bionic processor or a newer processor is also integrated in these iPhone models to handle the tasks of double recording. Devices with the A11 Bionic chip or older, such as the iPhone X and the iPhone 8 Plus, are not supported.

You can install DoubleTake on any iPhone with iOS 13, unless it is one of the devices mentioned above. Only one lens can be used at a time.

When you start DoubleTake for the first time, you must grant camera and microphone permissions. Simply tap on each option and agree to the permission popup that appears. Tap "Next" to continue.

Step 2: Choose Your Lenses

When you exit the permissions screen, you may be a little confused by what you see because it looks like a normal camera view. Where are the multiple video feeds? Simple: Tap the lens icon at the bottom left to select your lenses.

By default, the "wide" lens should already be selected as your lens camera "A." Any lens you mark as "A" is your "main" camera, which fills most of the display. You can deselect the wide-angle lens to select another camera A, or you can stay with it for the time being. Depending on which iPhone model you have, you may see ultra-wide-angle, telephoto, and selfie lenses in addition to the wide-angle lens.

When camera A is selected, your next lens selection is camera "B". Depending on the capture mode you choose later (see the next section), the B lens is either on the right side of the screen or appears as an overlay over A's feed.

Once you've selected your two cameras, you can choose a frame rate. Tap the "24 FPS" option in the lower right to choose between 24, 25 or 30 fps. When you're satisfied, tap "Confirm" to get to your new two-lens camera view.

Step 3: After confirmation, select the recording mode

With your lenses, you will see the feeds from both on the screen. However, if you start recording immediately, you will get two different video files, one from each camera. If you do not want this, you should change the recording mode. You can select a new one using the icon at the top right.

Discrete

By default when DoubleTake is started for the first time and yours selected , It's called "Discrete" mode and creates two separate video files as if you had filmed each one individually.

Since camera B's feed may be blocking what you need to see in A, you can drag the window to another part of the screen. You can use discrete shooting mode if you just want to see another perspective of the same thing.

Picture-in-Picture

PiP, which stands for picture-in-picture, looks identical to Discrete. However, the end product is exactly what you see on the screen. Instead of recording two videos, one from each camera, you get a video with camera A over which the window of camera B is located.

The advantage of recording together as separate videos is most evident in the selfie lens as camera B. It could show your reactions to everything that happens to one of the rear lenses. As with Discrete, you can move Camera B's window to another location on the screen. Unlike Discrete, however, this is important from a cinematic point of view, as the final video is displayed wherever you see it on the screen during the recording.

Split screen

The split screen records every camera feed and dedicates it to real estate screen to both. As with PiP, there is one output, not two different video files. This is helpful when recording an interview because you can give both your subject and the interviewer the same space behind the camera.

Step 4: Record Your Combined Video

If you've ever used a video capture app before, you know how to shoot. Tap the shutter button / capture button in the lower right to start filming, then tap it again to stop the movie. While your iPhone takes native 4K recordings, DoubleTake limits you to 1080p.

When shooting in discrete or PiP mode, you can tap the expand button in the top right corner of camera B to fill the screen. If you want to see it this big, but need to switch back to camera A, you can swipe the video up or down from the screen. To return to the full view of camera B, tap the chevron that appears in the camera A feed.

To make Camera B's window small again, tap the minimize button. If you only want to focus on camera A at this point, you can swipe camera B’s window on one of the four sides of the frame so that it disappears off the screen. Tap the chevron that appears in camera A's feed to pull it back into the frame.

If you record in PiP mode, any changes you make to the camera B window during recording will appear in your final product. [19659033] How to record videos with two cameras on your iPhone at the same time ” width=”480″ height=”480″ style=”max-width:532px;height:auto;”/>

While DoubleTake records with automatic focus and exposure, tapping an area in the frame moves these settings to this area. You can do this for the camera A feed in all shooting modes and for camera B in a split screen. In discrete and PiP mode, however, you can expand the window of camera B and refocus it from there.

Step 5: View, Export, and Recycle Bin Clips

If you've captured content, you may be wondering where DoubleTake is actually sending it to. You won't find it in your photo app. Instead, you need to tap the save icon in the upper left corner of DoubleTake.

Here you can view all the videos you have recorded with DoubleTake. If you used Discrete, you will find two separate videos for each selected camera. You can tap a video to watch it.

If you want to select clips like FiLMiC Pro, you have to tap on the checkmark icon in the lower left corner. You can then tap any number of clips to select them. Once you have selected at least one clip, the other three greyed out tools are available. The film roll icon stores your selected clips in photos, the share icon opens the share sheet, and the trash can icon deletes your selected clips.

And videos that you do not delete are saved in the app. After exporting, you may want to delete them to get a clean app as things can get messy quickly.

Don't miss: Automate focus, zoom, and exposure changes in Filmic Pro for smoother pulls

Cover photo, screenshots, and GIFs by Jake Peterson / Gadget Hacks

Source link