قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to save your iPhone's most recently used camera settings so you're ready to shoot a photo or video next time? «IOS & iPhone :: Gadget Hacks

How to save your iPhone's most recently used camera settings so you're ready to shoot a photo or video next time? «IOS & iPhone :: Gadget Hacks



Even though your iPhone's camera app is quick and easy to use, the default settings prevent you from instantly accessing any other shooting mode except "Photo" with live photo enabled and no filters. But there's a way to remind the Camera app what you prefer the next time you open it.

As someone who rarely uses live photos and likes to take square pictures for Instagram, I like the convenience of not having to roll out of photo mode every time the camera starts up. These extra seconds can change or break the opportunity to hold on for a moment.

If you want your camera app to save your last settings, read on.

Step 1
: Search for settings

Open In the Settings app, scroll down and tap Camera to view the settings. Then tap "Keep settings" at the top of the screen.

Step 2: Select which settings to keep

In the Maintain Settings menu, three options are available: Camera mode; Creative Controls or Filter & Lighting or just filters; and live photo. Turning on any of these options ensures that the default Camera app does not fall back to its default values ​​at startup, but remembers your recent settings.

iPhone X (left) and iPhone options X S Max's options (right)

Option 1: Preserve all settings & # 39; from & # 39;

Before we explain the options for each toggle, it is good to point out which settings are retained while keeping all these toggles off.

First there is Retina Flash (for selfies) or True Tone Flash (for the rear camera). If you flash either "Off" or "Auto", your choice will be saved the next time you open the camera, but the Retina flash will display as a True Tone flash because the selfie camera is not retained. However, if you have recently selected "On", the app will switch to "Auto" only for the reversing camera next time.

Second, there is HDR. Whether you change it to "Off" or "Auto," the app remembers your last-used option when you take a picture later. However, if you last used "On", the next time you switch to "Auto". If you have enabled "Smart HDR" or "Auto HDR", no setting will be made in the HDR Camera app. Also, on newer iPhone models, you can only toggle between "On" and "Off" – there is no "Auto" option.

  • Preserved: HDR setting (but "On" changes to "Auto"), Flash preset (but "On" changes to "Auto")
  • Not received: Shooting mode preset, Camera bias, Filter preference, Portrait lighting preference, Depth preference, Timer preference, Panorama direction, Zoom level, Exposure and Focus lock, Live Photo setting

Option 2 : Camera Mode

The first option mainly refers to the type of recording: Time Lapse, Slo-Mo, Video, Photo, Portrait, Square and Pano (Panorama). When the Camera Mode setting is on, the Camera app always opens with the last used shooting mode. Apple's default choice is a photo with the wide-angle rear lens

It will also remember which camera you last used, whether the front FaceTime HD or TrueDepth camera for selfies or the rear camera for everything else.

So, what is not retained in this setting? On the one hand, the timer is always set to "Off" instead of "3s" or "10s". Also, the direction in which you want to take pano images is also reset to the default position from left to right. Eventually, your optical or digital zoom will always be set to "1x" and the AE / AF lock will not be set.

  • Preserved: Shooting mode preference, camera preference, HDR preference (see option 1 above), flash preference (see option 1 above)
  • Not obtained: filter preference, portrait illumination preference, depth preference, Timer Preference, Panorama, Zoom Level, Exposure, and Focus Lock, Live Photo Setting

Option 3: Filter & Lighting or Creative Controls

The second option differs depending on which iPhone you have. It could be either "Creative Controls" (for an iPhone X S X S Max, or X R ), "Filter & Lighting "(for an iPhone 8 Plus or X) or just" filters "(for all other iPhone models).

Filter refers to the built-in color effects that can be applied to your still images. When a filter is activated, the corner symbol is illuminated with three overlapping circles in red, green and blue. The default value is Original (no effect), but if you've recently used Vivid, Vivid Warm, Vivid Cool, Dramatic, Dramatic Warm, Dramatic Cool, Mono, Silvertone or Noir, the app will remember that.

If you have an iPhone that supports portrait lighting modes – natural light, studio light, contour light, stage light, and stage light mono – then these options are also retained. For those of you who own a new iPhone X S or a higher model, the depth / stop number you use will also be preserved.

  • Preserved: Filter Preference, Portrait Illumination Preference, Depth Preference, HDR Preference (see Option 1 above), Flash Preference (see Option 1 above)
  • Not received: Shooting Mode Preference, Camera Setting, Timer Preset, Panorama direction, zoom level, exposure and focus lock, Live Photo preference

Option 4: Live Photo

The last option refers to Apple's unique feature that allows moments just before and after a picture to be GIF-like Capture video. The normal frame key frame may be arbitrary on the Live Photo timeline.

When this feature is enabled, the icon (three nested circles) in the top / center of the page lights up yellow. Note that Live Photo can only be used in standard Photo Shooting mode. By default, Live Photo is turned on, but it is reminded to turn it off if this was your last choice.

  • Preserved: Live Photo Setting, HDR Setting (see Option 1), Flash Setting (see Option 1)
  • Not received: Shooting Mode, Camera, Filter Preference, Portrait Lighting, Depth Preference settings , Timer Preference, Panorama Direction, Zoom Level, Exposure, and Focus Lock

Last, Not Favorite

Because this feature retains the last mode and not a "Favorites," you can use another feature in the Camera app return to your preferred mode at any time. For example, although I usually take square photos, sometimes I shoot videos. So after I've taken a video with "Camera Mode" enabled-but before I close the app-I'll scroll from Video to Square so Square Mode will be ready for Camera the next time I launch Camera.

All shortcuts through 3D Touch or Control Center will still bring you in that particular mode in the camera. For example, if you left Camera on Square recently, but use the 3D Touch shortcut to capture video, the Camera App will launch directly on video the next time-unless you switch back to Square before exiting the app.

19659005] Interestingly, the Camera app is responsible for accidental closure or short switching between apps. Even if all three Keep Settings are turned off, the last options used will be retained if the camera app is restarted within one minute. This applies to almost all settings available in Camera. Even the timer and zoom function is temporarily retained, but it is not stored in either photo or square mode for zooming.

  • Temporarily Preserved: Shooting Mode Setting, Camera Setting, Flash Setting, Filter Preference, Portrait Lighting, Depth Preference, Time Setting, Zoom Level (for Most Shooting Modes), Live Photo Setting, HDR Setting
  • Never Preserved: Zoom for Photo and Quad Mode, Exposure and Focus Lock, Panorama direction

Of course, if you prefer Apple's default settings, some or all of these options may be off and you can jump to what you just shot with the settings you used recently as long as it is under a minute or so since you last used the camera. (Remember, certain flash and HDR settings are preserved, no matter what.)

Title image and screenshots of David Chien / Gadget Hacks

Source link