قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How To Share Things From OneDrive

How To Share Things From OneDrive



  Onedrive logo

If you have an Office 365 account (free or paid), you will receive OneDrive, Microsoft's cloud storage application. Cloud storage is great for sharing files with other users. So, look how this works in OneDrive.

You can share OneDrive files either through the OneDrive folder on your computer (the "client interface") or through the Office 365 web interface or the OneDrive mobile app. Which method works best for you depends on your situation and preferences. However, Microsoft is increasingly relying on its cloud offer. This prioritization is displayed in the OneDrive user interface. Not to be dull, the Office 365 web interface and the OneDrive app are much nicer and more sophisticated than the client interface. The client interface also has at least seven different types of sharing, some of which are hangovers when parts are shared in older versions of Windows. For these reasons, we focus here on sharing through the OneDrive app and the OneDrive web interface.

Sharing (and Unlocking) a File via the Mobile OneDrive App

Microsoft has obviously put some effort into the OneDrive app because the sharing option is simple and comprehensive. We will use the Android app here for our examples, but the iOS app is similar. We will point out when there are significant differences.

Tap the three adjacent dots to share a file (or folder).

 The three dots showing the file options [19659003] On the menu that appears, tap Share.

 The share option

This opens the sharing options. By default, OneDrive allows people with whom you share a file to edit this file. You can change this to Ad-only by tapping the arrow next to "Can edit" and changing it to "Can" instead. You can also set "Set Expiration Date" which means that the file will only be released for a certain period of time.

 The Release Options

Note: On the iPhone or iPad Mobile App, these work slightly differently. The Share menu displays a "Show only" link to disable editing. You will see the "Link Settings" option, which allows you to set an expiration date.

 Show link settings and buttons for iOS only

If you set these options as desired (or you only have the defaults), you can share your file. At the top of the sharing options are OneDrive's default sharing options.

 The main types of sharing

These provide the following sharing methods:

  • Copy Link: Create a URL and copy it to the clipboard for pasting anywhere can. This link can be used by anyone.
  • Invite People: Sends a link to one or more email addresses that you select from your contacts or enter manually. This link can only be used by the people to whom you send it.
  • Send Files: Allows sending the file to someone. You can send the file via email or other communication app on your phone such as Slack or WhatsApp. Unlike "Copy Link" or "Invite People", which provide a link to click, a copy of the file is sent. Links can not be "shared" at any time, but once you send the file to someone, they can be kept forever. So use this option only if the recipient can not keep the file.
  • Outlook: If you have Outlook installed on your phone, an email will be opened with the link in it that you can send to someone.

These options include all the apps and methods your phone can use to share a file. WhatsApp, Signal, LINE, Twitter, Facebook, Bluetooth, WiFi Direct, Email or any other installed app. Tap the appropriate icon and follow the instructions to share the file.

To unlock the file, tap the three dots and click the information icon.

 The information icon for the file [19659003] This displays the file properties and indicates who you shared the file with at the bottom.

 The people you shared the file with

Click "Can edit". Click the link (or "Can View" if you've shared the file as a view only) and choose "Stop Sharing" in the menu that appears. Click "OK" to stop sharing the file.

 The

radio button Sharing (and Un-releasing) a File Using the O365 Web Interface

Log in to Office 365 and navigate to OneDrive. [19659003]   The O365 App Launcher and App Tiles

Select the file you want to share and click Share at the top of the menu bar.

 The share button on the menu bar

This displays the sharing options for the file. They are pretty similar to the OneDrive app. The default sharing option is that people can edit a file that you have shared and can set an expiration date if you only want to share the file for a specified period of time

 The sharing options in OneDrive

An option that only available in the OneDrive web interface is to password-protect the file Click Set Password. This means that if you create and send a link to a file, a person will only be able to open the link after receiving the password. For security conscious users, this is a useful feature that is definitely worth your while if you have something confidential to tell.

The two main options for sending the link are Get a link and Email.

  • Get a link: Creates a link that you can copy and paste wherever you want. This link is suitable for every user.
  • E-mail: Opens a webmail with the link where you can enter one or more e-mail addresses and a message. This link can only be used by people who access it through the e-mail addresses you provide.

Click More to see specific services that you can share. At the time of writing, these services are limited to Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Weibo and, if you click on one of them, a new window opens where you can log in to this service and post the link. Why Microsoft chose these four services is a guess, even though they own LinkedIn, and Facebook, Twitter, and Weibo are likely to have accounts between them for a decent portion of Internet visitors, but why four apps and not five or six, or more? We're not sure, but if you want to share a file in another app, click "Get Link" and paste the link into the app of your choice.

To unlock a file, select it and click the information icon in the upper-right corner of the OneDrive page.

 The information button for the file

This displays the file properties. Click "Manage Access" to see who you shared the file with.

 The link

Displays a list of sharing links, indicating who has access to the file and what permissions are available

 The shared links

Click the arrow below the link to change permissions, for example: To stop sharing the file, click on the "x" next to the link. A warning message is displayed.

 The Delete Alert Dialog

Click "Remove Link" to stop sharing the file. This removes only this link . So if you want to completely stop sharing the file, you must remove all share links created for you.


Source link