So you accidentally sent a voice message to someone in an Instagram DM. Maybe it contains a little flattering conversation about the recipient. Maybe it's a record of something embarrassing you said. Whatever your message contains, it's on another person's smartphone. You may think you are out of luck and your life is over. However, if you act quickly, this is not the case.
It's common knowledge that most chat apps will not allow messages to be sent. Of course, you can delete anything you want from your device, but they stay on the sender's phone and stay away from your desperate fingertips. Instagram DMs work differently: instead of deleting messages and, in turn, voice messages, you actually redeem the message and finally wipe it off your friend's device. Tap and hold the voice message that you do not want to hear, then tap "Send message" in the popup. On iOS, you'll need to tap "Unsend" again to confirm. Then poof ̵
Do not you believe us? Try it yourself. As soon as you pick up the message on your device, it disappears almost immediately at the other end. As long as the phone is connected to an internet connection in the second second after disconnecting, remember that what you said in your memo is not the wind in the news first. While Instagram will send a read receipt when your friend displays the message, you will not know if he actually hears it or not. Our advice? Act fast.