قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / How to Stop Taking Notes on Your iPhone on Your iPad or Mac «iOS & iPhone :: Gadget Hacks

How to Stop Taking Notes on Your iPhone on Your iPad or Mac «iOS & iPhone :: Gadget Hacks



When saving important, sensitive information to Notes on your iPhone, you should be more careful. When synchronizing Notes via iCloud on your iPad and Mac – devices shared by family members or colleagues – there is a risk that your notes will be read, edited and deleted by others. Such a disaster is easy to avoid.

There are several ways to protect your confidential notes when multiple devices are signed in to your account. You can only keep notes on your iPhone so they will never sync with your other devices. You can lock your notes with a password so only you can access them, or you can turn off syncing on your iPhone or other devices.

Option 1
: Keep notes on your iPhone only

This option is the simplest solution if you only want to keep notes on your iPhone. Everything in this folder will not sync with your iPad or Mac as it is stored locally.

Open the Settings app, scroll down, and tap Notes. Then switch to the "My Account" setting. If you set up your iPhone for the first time and did not sign in to iCloud, "On My iPhone" is already enabled for Notes (as this would be the only folder available in the app).

If Now Notes on the folders open screen (you may need to tap the back button if you are already in a folder), you should see a section on my iPhone with a " See Notes "folder.

By default, Apple prioritizes the iCloud at the top when logged on to iCloud, However, on my iPhone the next section should be before any third-party section for Gmail, Yahoo or something like that Depending on your view, text size, and the number of folders and subfolders in your iCloud section, you may need to scroll down.

You can tap "New Folder" below. Select "On my iPhone" to create a new local folder. Then tap the name of the folder you created, or simply tap the default Notes folder on On my iPhone to start generating local, non-synced files notes instantly. If you have more than one folder in a section, a new folder is automatically created that contains all your notes, in this case the All on My iPhone folder.

If it is in yours iCloud has a note you want to save locally On your iPhone, you can swipe left from its folder screen, tap the folder icon, and then select the folder under On my iPhone . Alternatively, you can look in with 3D Touch, swipe up, and then tap "Move" to select a new folder.

Option 2: Lock notes with password

Since iOS 9.3, Notes allows password protection for individual notes with biometric support. Using Sticky Note is an excellent solution if you want to protect some notes that can be synchronized with your other devices, but otherwise require transparency with the rest of the devices. When a locked note appears on your iPad or Mac, it can not be opened or deleted without the assigned password or biometrics.

Pictures of Justin Meyers / Gadget Hacks

Note, however, that biometric data such as Touch ID or Face ID prevents "locking" notes when other users have their biometric data stored on these other devices. This means they have permission to unlock locked notes with their fingerprints or facial features instead of a password.

Multi-User Biometrics This can be one thing in a household, as multiple family members may have stored multiple fingerprints or faces to speed bypassing lock screens. You can disable biometrics and in these cases rely solely on passwords to access locked notes.

For more information, see our complete instructions for protecting notes on your iPhone. There is also a trick to create different passwords for different notes. This means that protected notes do not all rely on a single password if you want to make Notes even more secure. If you generally consider locking notes, be sure to follow the basic principles of password creation.

Option 3: Do not sync your notes with iCloud

All notes between your iPhone, iPad, and Mac can be disconnected Disable Notes sync in iCloud. You can turn off iCloud syncing on your iPhone only, disable iCloud syncing only for your iPad and Mac, or turn off iCloud syncing for all devices. However, we recommend only the first option, because anyone with access to your other devices can turn on iCloud sync without credentials.

To disable on your iPhone, open Settings, tap on your name at the top and select "iCloud," then "Turn Off Notes." At the prompt, tap "Delete from my iPhone" to delete all iCloud notes from your device. That way you only delete them from your iPhone. Do not worry – all your iCloud notes will still be stored in the iCloud. However, you should first move the sensitive iCloud notes to your iPhone's local storage (see option 1 above).

In a scenario where all devices need to be logged in to iCloud, you can log your iPhone on a different iCloud account than logged in to the iPad and Mac, as one intended for business use only. However, this becomes complicated when other iCloud-synced apps and data (such as photos, email, contacts, calendars, and Safari) need to be made available on all devices (for example, when sharing devices with family members) ). It's probably best to keep things simple and stay with a single iCloud account for your own devices and disable Notes syncing for your iPhone to protect privacy.

Finally, locally stored notes on your iPhone will not be synced across devices and will continue to be backed up with iCloud if "iCloud Backup" is enabled in your iCloud settings. If you use iTunes to create iPhone backups instead, your notes will be stored in the backup on your computer. Because of the way these backups are designed, Notes data within a backup is not easily accessible – or even readable – unless the information is restored to an iPhone, and this would require your iCloud credentials.

Cover photo by Justin Meyers / Gadget Hacks; Screenshots of David Chien / Gadget Hacks

Source link