قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / iOS 13: The five most important new security and privacy features for your iPhone

iOS 13: The five most important new security and privacy features for your iPhone



  ios-13-location-privacy-tools

iOS 13 and iPadOS have some new privacy features that you should know.


Jason Cipriani / CNET

Over the years, Apple has devoted a lot of time and energy to bringing home the message that Apple cares about your privacy . The company has posted advertising pamphlets on privacy and created a section of its Web site that describes privacy practices. CEO Tim Cook urged Congress to amend privacy laws . Apple is now expanding iOS 13 and iPadOS with new privacy features.

iOS 13 is preinstalled on the iPhone 11 and iPhone 11 Pro and as a free update for the iPhone 6S ($ 159 at Walmart) and available newer models.

The new features let you control how often apps can access your location. You can also prevent apps from scanning nearby. Bluetooth and Wi-Fi Networks Guess your location, a new -in method for third-party apps and advanced HomeKit security features .

  http://www.cnet.com/ "height =" 110 "width =" 196


In Progress:
Check out:

iOS 13: Cool features you can try now want



1:32

How often apps track your location.

On iOS 13, apps can no longer request constant access to their location when they first open it. Instead, you can choose from three different options: Allow location access while using, allowing, or even disallowing the app.

Selecting "Allow Once" assigns your location data to the app. However, the next time the app attempts to access your location, you'll be prompted again.

  ios-13-location-permissions "data-original =" https://cnet4.cbsistatic.com/img/TuI5f56E_fwl0F13VJRscxGvgmI=/0x121:2504x1945/2019/07/08/7bb87057-ee9d-4347ea869-84/ios -13-location-permissions.jpg [19659016[ios-13-location-permissions[19659017[LocationPromptsiniOS13AddNewDataProtectionOptions</p>
<p></span><span class=
Screenshots of Jason Cipriani / CNET

When an app tries to access your location for the first time while it is running in the background, you are asked if you want to allow persistent access. Alternatively, if you know that an app should always have access to your whereabouts, go to Settings > Privacy > Location Services and tap the name of the app to record it in the whitelist.

Go to the same section of settings if you change your mind about a permission setting to grant or disable their location access. It's a good idea to check this list of apps from time to time.

Apple also makes more transparent the number of times an app accesses your location by regularly issuing an alert that includes a map of all the places an app has reviewed your location and asking if you want to keep the apps. Settings as they are. The card opens the eyes and should make people take the prompts more seriously, rather than discarding them.

Stop Stealth Bluetooth Snooping

  ios-13-location-tracking-reminder-map "height =" 0 "width =" 270 "data-original =" https://cnet4.cbsistatic.com/ img / pXtF54N5BQNPxk6Q9WVQ_VDcMf0 = / 270x0 / 2019/07/08/85a1d15f-0ee2-4dce-bbc5-4bab7cb63557 / ios-13-location-tracking-reminder-map.jpg

A location reminder shows how often and where an app is reviewing your location.


Screenshot of Jason Cipriani / CNET

Some apps never request access to your location. However, this does not prevent them from using nearby known Wi-Fi networks or Bluetooth devices to get a good idea of ​​where you are.

With iOS 13, you now get a command prompt to access your iPhone ($ 999 on Amazon) or iPad ($ 294 on Walmart) on the first Ask for the Bluetooth functionality Open an app.

When I started Facebook for the first time after installing iOS 13, I was immediately asked to give the app access to Bluetooth. I rejected the application and have yet to see any negative effects. Of course, there will be apps like Tile the service that lets you track your lost keys or wallets and connect to their trackers via Bluetooth – which you need to approve if they are should work.

After a while with iOS 13 or iPadOS, you'll be surprised at how many apps are requesting Bluetooth access that may not be needed. You can view a list of apps that have requested Bluetooth access at Settings > Privacy > Bluetooth.

Wi-Fi snooping is also stopped.

Apps will only have access to Wi-Fi network information on iOS 13 or iPadOS if you grant them access to your location if they are virtual private network (VPN) apps or if they are apps, Configuring and using a nearby hotspot (for example, setting up a smart home accessory to create your own temporary Wi-Fi network). Outside of these three types, apps can not see which Wi-Fi networks you're connecting to.

Sign in with Apple

  Bluetooth permission-in-iOS-13 "height =" 0 "width =" 270 "data-original =" https://cnet1.cbsistatic.com/img/Cpp9Xd92njFL_hvSRDMzDl37UGc=/ 270x0 / 2019/07/08 / 1945506c-7fb6-4a00-ae3f-b5397cfc8fbf / bluetooth-permission-in-ios-13.jpg

iOS 13 lets you manage apps that want to find nearby Bluetooth devices.


Screenshot by Jason Cipriani / CNET

Apple has not stopped improving privacy features for iOS 13 and iPadOS locations. There's a new feature Sign in with Apple that you'll see in apps as soon as iOS becomes unavailable.

Apple sign-in is similar to signing up for Facebook and Google, except that Apple does not collect and store user data for the sale of ads. Apple even randomly generates an email address that you can use when you sign in and sign in to apps.

This saves you from sending spam to your own inbox and prevents you from having to create the wrong account to protect your privacy and keep unwanted emails out.

HomeKit Enhancements

Outside iOS Apple also announced that its HomeKit smart home platform will receive support for secure routers and encrypted home security cameras . The new routers add a firewall layer to your smart home devices and give you complete control over which devices can communicate with each other.

HomeKit cameras will soon have encrypted video and iCloud storage. Currently, many smart home video cameras download unencrypted videos for storage and analysis on their respective servers. With HomeKit Secure Video, all uploaded videos are encrypted and nobody can view them.

Of course, iOS 13 is not just about privacy. There are many new features, such as the ability to block unknown callers, a new gesture-based keyboard, and a considerable number of hidden iOS 13 and iPadOS features]. For more information, see our Complete Guide for iOS 13 and iPadOS .

Originally published at the beginning of this year. Updated with new information.

$ 899

  http://www.cnet.com/ "height =" 30 "width =" 100

CNET may receive a commission from retailers.


Source link