قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / Keep your location secret with iOS 13's new privacy features

Keep your location secret with iOS 13's new privacy features



  ios-13-location-privacy-tools

iOS 13 and iPadOS have some new privacy features that you should know.


Jason Cipriani / CNET

In recent years, Apple has set itself the goal of going home how much the company cares about users' privacy . Apple posted advertising pamphlets on privacy Apple CEO Tim Cook asked Congress to amend privacy laws and the company created a section of its website that covered details of privacy practices , Apart from marketing campaigns and quotations from interviews, Apple practices what it preaches by adding new privacy features to iOS 13 and iPadOS . Apple announced it would be giving the iPad ($ 249 at Walmart) its own operating system called iPadOS at WWDC . The two operating systems are mostly identical, with large functional overlaps, including new privacy features.

The new features let you control how often apps can access your location, prevent nearby apps from scanning Bluetooth and Wi-Fi networks to guess your location, and with one extended login method for third-party apps HomeKit Security features.

iOS 13 and iPadOS are currently in beta. The features can and will change before the final release in the fall. We update this post with the most up to date information we have. If you want to test iOS 13, you can now install on your iPhone or iPad .

  ios-13-location-permissions "data-original =" https://cnet4.cbsistatic.com/img/Gpq7Q9KJYJLxcXCqs0IfXtbj3Kc=/2019/07/08/7bb87057-ee9d-4347-8466-9424c8369eea -location-permissions .jpg

Location queries in iOS 13 provide new options to keep your data private.


Screenshots of Jason Cipriani / CNET

Decide how often apps track your location.

  ios-13-location-tracking-reminder-map "height =" 0 "width =" 270 "data-original =" https://cnet4.cbsistatic.com/img/pXtF54N5BQNPxk6Q9WVQ_VDcMf0=/ 270x0 / 2019/07 / 08 / 85a1d15f-0ee2-4dce-bbc5-4bab7cb63557 / ios-13-location-tracking-rem-reminder-map.jpg [19659013-ios"height="0"width="270

A location reminder indicates how often and where an app reviews your location.


Screenshot by Jason Cipriani / CNET

With iOS 13, apps can no longer request constant access to their location when they first open it. Instead, you can choose from three different options: Allow continuous site access while using, allowing, or even disallowing the app. If you select Allow once, the location data for the app will be displayed. The next time the app tries to access your location, you'll be prompted again.

When an app tries to access your location for the first time while it is running in the background, you are asked if you want to allow persistent access. Alternatively, if you know that an app should always have access to your whereabouts, go to Settings > Privacy > Location Services and tap the name of the app to record it in the whitelist.

Go to the same section of settings if you change your mind about a permission setting to grant or disable their location access. It's also a good idea to review this list of apps from time to time.

Apple also increases the transparency of an app's access to your location with a regular warning that includes a map of all the places an app has reviewed your location, and asks if you want to preserve the app's settings , Adding the card opens your eyes and should make people take the prompts more seriously than just discard them.

Stop secret tracking of locations

  Bluetooth permission in iOS 13 "height =" 0 "width =" 270 "data-original =" https://cnet1.cbsistatic.com/img/Cpp9Xd92njFL_hvSRDMzDl37UGc= / 270x0 / 2019/07/08 / 1945506c-7fb6-4a00-ae3f-b5397cfc8fbf / bluetooth-permission-in-ios-13.jpg [19659022[bluetooth-permission-in-ios-13"height="0"width="270

iOS 13 lets you manage apps that want to find nearby Bluetooth devices.


Screenshot by Jason Cipriani / CNET

Some apps never request access to your location. However, this does not prevent them from using known Wi-Fi networks or nearby Bluetooth devices to get a good idea of ​​where you are. On iOS 13, you will now be prompted to request access to your iPhone ($ 1,000 at Best Buy) or the Bluetooth functionality of the iPad when you first open an app.

When I started Facebook for the first time after installing iOS 13, I was immediately asked to give the app access to Bluetooth. I rejected the application and have yet to see any negative effects.

Of course there will be apps like Tile the service that lets you track your lost keys or wallets and connect to their trackers via Bluetooth, and ask if they should work.

After a while with iOS 13 or iPadOS, you'll be surprised at how many apps are requesting a Bluetooth access that may not really be needed. You can view a list of apps that have requested Bluetooth access at Settings > Privacy > Bluetooth.

Apple has not publicly stated how apps are prevented from scanning nearby Wi-Fi networks. We've asked for more information and will provide an update as soon as we hear about it.

  http://www.cnet.com/ "height =" 110 "width =" 196


Currently playing:
Look at this:

iOS 13 Beta: Installation is on its own risk



3:53

But wait, there's more

Apple has not stopped using advanced privacy features of sites in iOS 13 and iPadOS. There is a new feature Sign in with Apple that can be seen in apps as soon as iOS 13 is officially released in mid-September (assuming Apple follows the last boot cycle). Apple sign-in is similar to the Facebook and Google login buttons, but with Apple's failure to track and store user data for the sale of ads. Apple even randomly generates an email address that you can use when you sign in and sign in to apps. This saves you from sending spam to your own inbox and saves you from creating a fake account to protect your privacy and keep unwanted emails out.

Outside of iOS Apple also announced that its HomeKit smart home platform will receive support for secure routers and encrypted home security cameras . The new routers add a firewall layer to your smart home devices and give you complete control over which devices can communicate with each other.

HomeKit cameras will soon have encrypted video and iCloud storage. Currently, many smart home video cameras download unencrypted videos for storage and analysis on their respective servers. With HomeKit Secure Video, all uploaded videos are encrypted and nobody can view them.

Of course, iOS 13 is not just about privacy. There are many new features, such as the ability to block unknown callers, a new gesture-based keyboard, and a considerable number of hidden iOS 13 and iPadOS features]. Bookmark our Complete Guide for iOS 13 and iPadOS and check back often – we'll update it regularly before releasing iOS 13 in the fall.

$ 821

  http://www.cnet.com/ "height =" 30 "width =" 100

CNET may receive a commission from retailers.


Source link