Use Outlook to share your calendar with individuals. However, you can also publish your calendar so everyone can access it with the correct link. Here's how to do it and why you may find it useful.
What is the difference between sharing and publishing?
You can make your Outlook calendar available to other people in two ways:
Share your calendar. When you share your calendar, only the person to whom you shared it can see it. You can share your calendar multiple times and manage each share individually. For example, you can share your calendar with Alice and then share it with Bob. later, you can remove Bob's access while keeping Alice in touch. Sharing is the best option if you want to be sure that only selected people can see the calendar.
RELATED: How to Share Your Outlook Calendar
Publish your calendar. When you publish your calendar, anyone can access it with the link. Anyone who finds the link by chance is next to impossible, although people might share the link with others. Publishing is everything or nothing. So if you remove the publishing link, it will not work for anyone. Publishing is the best option for a public calendar that multiple people need to access, such as: For example, your project team at work or a sports team that will organize you over the weekend.
A Short Note for Corporate IT Users: Many Companies By default, employee calendars are displayed internally. That way, all employees in your organization can view each others' calendars, making it much easier to book meetings. This is not the same as publishing your calendar used primarily for sharing your calendar with people outside of your organization.
Publishing Your Outlook Calendar
This was possible in earlier iterations of Outlook Publish your calendar from the Outlook client to your laptop. However, since the introduction of Office 365 (O365), you can use Microsoft to publish a calendar only to the Outlook Web application for people outside your company.
Log in to your O365 account and navigate to Outlook by clicking on the App Launcher (the 9 dots in the upper left corner) and selecting the Outlook icon.
Click Settings> Show All Outlook Settings.
In the Publish Calendar section, select the Calendar you want to share (if you have only set one calendar, this is called Calendar only), then in the second drop-down list, select Show all details "and click" Publish. "
This creates two links: an HTML link and an ICS link.
The HTML link lets users view your calendar in a browser Use this option n if you want people to see the calendar separately from their own calendar. This is especially useful if you want a public calendar because you can embed the link in a web page.
The ICS link allows users to import their calendars into their calendar programs. ICS is the file type for the iCalendar format (.ics). It's an open calendar information format that's been around for over 20 years. Any calendar app that you're likely to use will accept a calendar in .ics format. The link works in Google Calendar, Apple Calendar, Yahoo! Calendar, Lightning for Thunderbird, or another calendar app you use.
CONNECTION: Viewing an Outlook Calendar in Google Calendar
Click either the HTML link or the ICS link and a menu will appear. Select "Copy Link" to copy the link to your clipboard.
How to Publish Your Outlook Calendar
"Unpublish" and "Reset Links" "Both of your options are in the Calendar> Shared Calendars> section Publish a calendar.
"Unpublish" option repeals the publication of the calendar, which means that both the HTML and ICS links no longer work. Link, you'll see an error page instead of your calendar (especially an HTTP 503 error page, which will be displayed if a server is not available), and those who have added the ICS link to their calendar will not be able to see their appointments ( whether a message or an error page is displayed depends on your e-mail program) New links for HTML and ICS This is useful if you are worried that people will have access if they have access to it it should not. (For example, if the members of your team have changed and you want to ensure that only current members have access to the calendar.) The old links are broken, but new links are provided that you can use or send to people ,