قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / Set expiration date when sharing files in Google Drive

Set expiration date when sharing files in Google Drive



Sharing a file through Google Drive is an excellent way to give customers and contractors access to documents without having to download them. If users only want temporary access to files, you can set an automatic expiration date when you share them. That's how it's done.

Note: To use this feature, the owner of the document requires a paid G-Suite account. Persons with whom you share a document do not need a paid account to view the documents.

Setting a Google Drive File Expiration Date

Start Google Drive Linked to Your G Suite Right-click the file you want to share, and then click Share on the shortcut menu.

Add the e-mail addresses of all the people you want to share the file with, and then click the Submit button. If you send the invitation to a Gmail account, they'll automatically be added to the list of people who can access the file. If you send to another type of address, each person will receive an email with a link pointing to the file.

Now right-click on the file and click on the "Share" command again.

This time with the sharing options open, click the "Advanced" link.

In addition to each person's contact information, a timer icon appears. Click here to set an expiration date.

Click the "Access Expires" drop-down menu to set 7 days, 30 days, or a custom expiration date.

Select the "Custom Date" option Opens a calendar where you can select a more specific date.

If you want to set an expiration date for others, click the timer next to the name. You must set an expiration date for each person.

Finally, click Save Changes to complete the changes you made to all users.

There is a limitation here should be aware By default, people for whom you have shared can download, print, or copy the file. In this case, they will have access to these copies after an expiration date you specify. You can choose to display only, and disable downloads, printing, and copying for commenters and viewers to prevent it. However, these people can not edit the document.

If you have people who only need temporary access to view or comment on a document, this feature works great.


Source link