It's time to re-examine your iPhone location permissions. Now you do not have to give apps permanent access to your location: you can grant access only once and have to agree each time an app wants your location.
A new privacy option for your location
Prior to iOS 1
The "While in Use" option is a good compromise to ensure that apps can display maps and take advantage of your location while you use them. Unlike apps with Always permission, they can not access your location in the background.
There's still a problem here: once you grant an app access to your location, that app can always access your location when you use it in the future. What happens if you only want to access a map in an app once without permanently accessing your location?
Now you can force apps to inquire the next time
Now there is another compromise option: Allow Once, also known as Ask Next Time. If an app wants to have access to your location, you can grant it access to your location this time and force it to ask you next time by tapping the "Allow once" option. You have control over how often the app can access your location.
This change is part of iOS 13 for iPhones and the new iPadOS for iPads. As the new Bluetooth permission apps demand, this change can help protect the privacy of your physical location. It's up to you if you want to share it with apps.
To accomplish this, you must first allow location access for an app, and then immediately browse and revoke the Settings app.
RELATED: Why iPhone and iPad apps ask for Bluetooth
When would you like to do this?
Many apps require access to your location, but they do not need it all the time. For example, a business app may request location access if you're calling a map of nearby locations. In the past, you had to select "During Use" to grant this access. However, in this case, the app can access your location as often as you like while using the app. This data could then be used to track your shopping preferences and target your advertising to you.
This new option allows you to visit your location only once.
Should every app you use always ask for location access? Probably not. Some apps just need your location. You may want to give Uber or Lyft access to your location each time you drive.
On the other hand, if you only want to assign your location to an app One-time location to access a specific feature, Allow Once is a smart option. If you notice that you're frequently using the app's location permissions, you'll be able to select "Allow while using the app" in the future and avoid the prompts.
How to force previously-installed apps to be asked
If you previously specified this If an app accesses or denies your location, this permission prompt will not be displayed. However, you can still choose Ask Me Next for each of your installed iPhone or iPad apps.
Go to Settings> Privacy> Location Services. A list of apps and their location permission settings appears.
Tap the name of an app to change location permissions. You can then choose "Ask me next time" if you want.
This option is available for all apps. App developers can not stop you from selecting it for their apps.
By the way, if you choose "Ask Next Time" "And then deny access to your location, the app will access yours Location is set to Never and your location is no longer accessible, which prevents an app from bombarding you with location requests, and you can still go to the Settings app and reset it to Ask Me Next.