قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / Stop apps from accessing your Mac's camera and microphone

Stop apps from accessing your Mac's camera and microphone



  mojave-app-permissions

Screenshot by Matt Elliott / CNET

With MacOS Mojave, Apple introduces new security features for Safari that make it difficult for shady web trackers to follow you, as well as new privacy controls that restrict apps from accessing the webcam and microphone on your Mac. In previous versions of MacOS, you can set permissions for apps that access your location, contacts, photos, calendars, and reminders. MacOS Mojave adds the camera and microphone to the App Permissions window.


Now:
Watch this:

We've done a round about the public beta version of MacOS Mojave and here's …


2:07

Checking and setting app permissions in Mojave

You've probably received notifications on your Mac where an app asks for permission to access your location, photos, or contacts, but after the update On Mojave, the apps start asking for your camera or microphone. And if you ever get the scary feeling that someone is watching (or listening) you can check which apps have permission to access your Mac's webcam or microphone.

To see which apps have access to your camera and microphone, go to System Preferences> Security and Privacy and click Privacy . The left pane shows the usual suspects for location services, contacts, calendars, reminders, and photos. Below are two new items on the list: Camera and Microphone .

Click one of the two options and you'll see a list of the apps you've asked to use your camera or microphone. Select the check boxes for the apps you want to grant access to and clear the check boxes for the apps you do not have access to.

You can make changes to either list without having to click the lock in the lower-left corner. For example, you can easily switch to the Zoom Video Conferencing app and then revoke the permission at the end of a video chat.

Read more: Everything you need to know about MacOS Mojave


Source link