قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / To automatically delete unwanted Apple Music songs when your iPhone runs out of space «iOS & iPhone :: Gadget Hacks

To automatically delete unwanted Apple Music songs when your iPhone runs out of space «iOS & iPhone :: Gadget Hacks



Smartphones increase their built-in storage capacity every year, but they also offer you more features that consume all this extra storage quickly shoot 4K videos. So while you have a lot of gigabytes for all your music, apps, photos and videos can quickly consume them. Fortunately, Apple Music has an auto-delete feature so you do not have to manage anything manually anymore.

When space runs out, Apple Music will not play downloaded songs from your device that you no longer hear or stop listening to for a while. We'd like this to be a feature for Android phones, but it's only available for the iPhone in iOS 1

0 and above. Some iOS features are used in the Apple Music App for Android, but this will probably never be one of them.

Launch the Settings app on your iPhone and tap Music. Scroll to the section Downloads and tap on "Optimize memory". If you do not see the optimization option, you probably have not downloaded music to your iPhone yet. If you see downloaded music but not the option, then iCloud Music Library must be turned on, which is referred to as the Sync Library in iOS 13.

On the Optimize Storage page, tap the same name at the top, which opens the section Minimum Storage below. This section displays the different amounts of memory. If your iPhone has limited storage space, music files that have not been played back until the music you've selected are still on your iPhone are removed.

  • None : Deletes All Tracks if there is no more space on your device.
  • 1 GB : Deletes titles up to 1 GB (about 200 titles).
  • 2 GB : Deletes titles up to 2 GB GB, about 400 titles left.
  • 4 GB : Deletes titles until you have 4 GB, about 800 titles left.
  • 8 GB : Deletes titles until you have 8 GB, about 1,600 titles, left.
  • 16 GB : Deletes tracks until you have 16 GB, about 3,200 tracks, left.
  • 32 GB : Deletes tracks until you have 32 GB, about 6,400 tracks, left.
  • 64 GB : Deletes songs until you have 64 GB (about 12,800 songs).
  • 128 GB : Deletes songs until they have 128 GB (about 25,600 songs).

I have a 64 GB iPhone, so the following five options are displayed so that not all the memory options listed above are displayed. The 1- and 2-gigabyte options only apply to 16 GB iPhones that are no longer in the Apple product range.

This setting may not resolve all memory issues. However, it is very helpful, especially if you download music to your iPhone to play offline. Better yet, it targets songs that you have not heard for a while – or, at all, if you've been as guilty as me – so your favorite music does not suddenly disappear when the low memory warnings raise their ugly heads.

This article was created during Gadget Hacks' special coverage on streaming, listening to, and creating music and podcasts on your smartphone. Take a look at the entire music and audio series.

Do Not Miss: How to Prevent Apple Music from Automatically Downloading Tracks to Your iPhone


Source link