قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / To backup your Google Photos library after auto-sync with Google Drive stops

To backup your Google Photos library after auto-sync with Google Drive stops



Since Google Photos and its unlimited high-quality cloud storage are available, Google has added a handy backup method to your Google Drive. As long as you've switched the Google Drive toggle in Google Photos settings (and enough space in your Drive), everything that's been added to Google Photos has been synced back to Google Drive, creating a personal library of original-quality photos could. [19659002] From the 10th of July this changes. According to Google, syncing drives has led to confusion among users, leaving photos with no option to sync with Google Drive. You can still keep your photos in original quality, but no new photos will be displayed on your drive. Likewise, anything you add to the photo folders in Google Drive will no longer automatically appear in Google Photos. Here are the changes and options for backing up:

Google Drive

Storage

As before, Google will store high-quality photos and videos in photos for free so they do not affect storage in your Google Drive. However, if you choose original quality, Google Photos uses some of the storage in your Google Drive to store your library, even if you can not see or access the photos. Any photos or videos in both locations use twice the space.

  Google Photos Drive Sync IDG

The photos in your Google Photos folder in Google Drive are not deleted, but new ones won are no longer added.

Photos folder

If you previously chose to back up your Google Photos with Google Drive, you will not be able to do so. Any photos synced until the time Google disabled features remain in your folder. You can do anything you want with them, but photos deleted from Google Drive will no longer be removed from photos.

Upload from Drive

Google has added a new feature to Google Photos called Upload from Drive. Similar to the Upload button and the drag-and-drop method, you can select photos and videos directly from your Google Drive and import them into photos. Once something has been uploaded to Google Photos, it will be stored in two places and take up twice that space. When you delete a photo from one place, the other is preserved.

Backup and Sync

For years, Google has been offering a backup and sync app for Macs and PCs that lets you easily sync photos and videos from your desktop to your Google Drive or Google Photos. This is not a one-way street like the current Google Photos and Google Drive integration. So you need to upload photos and videos to both places. However, you can select individual folders to be automatically synchronized when you start your PC. All new pictures and videos on your PC are available through Google Drive.

Download Photo Library

If you want to make sure you back up your photos in addition to the photos in Google Photos, you can still do so. Download a full copy of your Google Photos library. It's not as fast or seamless as the Google Drive sync, but it's enough.

  Google Photos Backup IDG

To back up your entire Google Photos library, you must do the following: Download an archive first.

First, go to the Data & Personalization tab in your Google Account, scroll down and select Download Data . There are a number of categories to choose from, but you should deselect all categories and search for Google Photos. Select the check box and scroll down to Next step . On the next screen, you can select the delivery method, file type, archive size, and the frequency with which you want to get a copy of your archive. Then select Create Archive to generate your library.

Depending on the size of your library, it may take a while for the delivery to finish and for the download to take longer to complete. However, your photos are neatly organized into folders by date, so they can be uploaded to Google Drive or saved to an external drive as you like.


Source link