قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / To prevent Superhuman (and other apps) from tracking your emails

To prevent Superhuman (and other apps) from tracking your emails



  Stylized new e-mail notification from the laptop.
Belozersky / Shutterstock

Superhuman's e-mail tracking has informed someone when and where they opened the e-mail. Although Superhuman has completely removed this feature in response to privacy concerns, other apps can track your open emails. To Stop It:

Although Superhuman has removed location tracking, it still supports email opening tracking. With other email tracking apps, someone who sends you an e-mail can also find your geographic location.

How do I open an app tracking email?

Superhuman uses a feature that has been around for a long time. A tiny pixel tracking image is embedded in the sent emails. When you open an e-mail, your e-mail client will request the image. The image is unique for each email, so Superhuman can use your IP address to see exactly when you opened the email and where you are.

This is not superhuman-specific! While not usually part of an end-user email application, many email newsletters and other marketing emails have long used tracking pixels. They know how many people open each e-mail ̵

1; and they can see which people are opening each e-mail on their mailing list.

Despite all the excitement, Superhuman only uses an existing email feature and makes it available in a new way – even though it seems scary for many people. Superhuman has now disabled the open tracking feature by default, but any Superhuman user can enable it.

While Superhuman continues to bow to pressure and completely remove this feature, users can use other email tools – from dedicated browser extension email applications built into Gmail – to track your emails will be opened.

CONNECTED: View when you open emails (and how to stop them)

Stop email tracking [19659006] To stop tracking open emails Just clear the "Auto-load images" setting in the email client of your choice.

Rahul Vohra, CEO of Superhuman, notes that there are browser extensions, such as Ugly Email and PixelBlock, that can block tracking pixels – without blocking other images – in Gmail's web browser. However, these only work in Gmail in your browser and there is no guarantee that all tracking images will be blocked. Disabling image downloading is a bogus method that works everywhere-at least in any email client where you can disable image loading.

After disabling this option, you'll probably see an option to load images whenever you open an email. It depends on how your email client works. If you do not agree, no images will be displayed and no one can see that you have opened this email. Many email clients, such as Gmail, allow you to automatically load images from specific senders if you do not care about them tracking you.

For example, in Gmail, go to Settings> General. Select "Ask before viewing external images" to the right of "Images." Scroll down and save the changes.

 Option to disable external images and use email tracking in Gmail [19659004] If you're using another email client, search the web for ways to turn off automatic image downloading E-mails in an e-mail client of your choice.

Keep in mind that even if you want to view images after opening an email, users will still be able to disable automatic image downloads to see if you have opened their emails.

 Option to load images for a single email in Gmail

With Superhuman itself, you can not disable the loading of remote images However, this means that superhuman users still have tracking pixels can not block. Vohra promises that this feature will be prioritized.


Source link