قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / Unused accounts are piling up? How to Delete a User on a Mac

Unused accounts are piling up? How to Delete a User on a Mac



  Deleting a user on a Mac
racorn / 123RF

If you have an account on your Mac that is no longer used and takes up valuable disk space, you can remove it in a few easy steps. In our guide, you'll learn everything you need to do to quickly and easily delete a user on a Mac.

You can make many other changes to your Mac user accounts to change or manage your username If you use your account's Mac with Screen Time, we have it all for you.

Step 1
: Make sure you have administrator rights.

  To delete a user on a Mac:

To delete a user on a Mac, you need administrator access. You must be logged in to the Administrator account and know the Administrator user name and password to delete a user. You also need to make sure that you are not logged in to the account that you want to delete. If you want to delete an administrator account, you must first create and log in to a different administrator account.

Step 2: Enter the administrator password in System Preferences.

  To delete a user on a Mac:

Click the Apple icon in the upper-left corner of the screen, and then click System Preferences> Users and Groups.

If you are in the Users and Groups section, click the padlock in the lower-left corner and enter the administrator username and password. This prevents unauthorized changes to user accounts.

Step 3: Remove the Unwanted Account

  To Delete a User on a Mac

To remove the unwanted account, simply click the account name in the list of Click the minus sign at the bottom of the window. You will now be confronted with a number of options, which are discussed below.

  • Save the base folder in a disk image: If you feel like you want to restore the user account later, this is the case an option you can choose. This will archive all of the user's documents and information so he can continue where he left off later on restoring his account. The disk image of their files is stored in / Users / Deleted Users /.
  • Do not change the home folder: This will remove the user account from the login screen, but most of the rest will be preserved. The user's home folder remains in / Users /, and you can later restore the account if you want.
  • Deleting the Private Folder: This completely removes the user's home folder and any related information and documents, and freezes space on them. If you want to recover your account, you'll need to set it up again from scratch.

When you have made your choice, click Done.

Step 4: Remove the guest user option

  Delete a user on a Mac

A guest user may be enabled on your Mac. This allows users to log in without a password even though they can not change system or user settings, and their files are deleted when they log off.

If you want to delete the guest user account on your Mac, follow steps 1 through 3 above, but instead of clicking on a named user, click the Guest User entry in the left column.

Now deselect the "Allow guests to log in to this computer" check box. This will disable the guest user account. You can also set whether guest users can connect to shared folders on your Mac. This can be enabled or disabled, regardless of whether you allow guest users to log in.





Source link