قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Tips and Tricks / Using Facebook's new privacy tool to control your data

Using Facebook's new privacy tool to control your data



  facebook-logo-2

Facebook's new privacy tool fixes privacy concerns.


Angela Lang / CNET

Facebook introduces a new feature that lets you view and control data that apps and sites share with the platform. It's called Off-Facebook Activity and it shows what information third-party apps can access and what they use it for. For example, if you're shopping for the Galaxy Note 1

0, Facebook can find what you're looking for and show you targeted ads for that phone.

With the new privacy feature, you can tell Facebook to disconnect all company-reported information from your account, and the targeted ads will stop serving. The launch followed a $ 5 billion fine by the Federal Trade Commission and Facebook's commitment to better protect users' privacy. and adds a new feature called "Why do I see this post?" That way, you can control what you see from your friends, pages, and groups in your newsfeed.

Off-Facebook activities are currently available only in Ireland, South Korea and Spain, but will be available everywhere in the coming months. Here is everything we know so far.

  ofa-embedded-en-us "data-original =" https://cnet3.cbsistatic.com/img/nNVNjDOVfHlelpvfp1TbTm0y6y4=/2019/08/20/32c8da4e-4e12-4cbf-81e5-58fe23504a89/ ofa-embedded -de-us.jpg

The new Facebook feature lets you control which websites share your information.


Facebook

How Off-Facebook Activity Works

You can use Facebook's business tools to see what information apps and websites have sent on Facebook. From there, you can remove the information from your account and turn off future "off-Facebook activity" from your account. You can control this for all apps and websites so they can no longer share your activity with Facebook.

If available, go to Settings > Your Facebook Information > Off-Facebook Activity . From here, you can manage your off-Facebook activity, clear the entire history, and disable future activity for your account, Facebook says.

What happens if you disable the Off-Facebook activity?

If you disable the Off-Facebook activity, Facebook removes your identifying information that the apps and sites share. This means that Facebook does not know which websites you visited or what you viewed. As a result, these sites will not serve targeted ads.

However, as the Washington Post states, your data is not deleted, it's just anonymized.

  ofa-hero-en-us "data-original =" https://cnet3.cbsistatic.com/img/VZbdklnvUbCNvYXxvaocDo4ivWg = / 2019/08/20 / 6fed0683-5fd1-4e9f-94d0-85077f3d7a94 / ofa-hero -de-us.jpg

Disable your off-Facebook activity. [19659003] Facebook

What you can do now

If you want to control which ads you see (or not see) on Facebook, go to your Settings on your phone or desktop and select ] Display Settings .

For advertisers and businesses, you can use a list of your information uploaded to Facebook to see which advertisers have served ads. Currently, you can choose to hide ads from all advertisers.

You can also view ad settings and opt out of ads based on partner data, ads based on your activity on Facebook company products you see elsewhere, and ads that include your social actions. This will not delete any data, and you'll still see the same number of ads as before. The off-Facebook activity feature should change this once it's launched.

  http://www.cnet.com/ "height =" 110 "width =" 196


Being played:
Watch: [19659029] Facebook is fined $ 5 billion (The Daily …



7:37


Source link