Google has announced that Google Drive and Google Photos will be disconnected in July. According to Google, the connection between these services is confusing. Therefore, some changes are made to simplify the user experience.
How did Google Drive and Photos connect?
Currently Google Drive and Google Photos are linked. In Google Drive, you can select a Google Photos folder to browse all your photos and videos. The Google Backup and Sync tool for Windows and Mac lets you sync these photos to your computer as well as your other Google Drive files.
Google Photos also displays photos you've saved in other folders in Google Drive.
These interfaces are linked. When you delete a photo from Google Drive, it also disappears from Google Photos. If you delete a photo in Google Photos, it will also be removed from your Google Drive.
Google reports that the connection is confusing, so it makes some changes.
Will be started At some point in July 201
New photos and videos stored in Google Drive will not be automatically added to Google Photos.
When you delete photos or videos from Google Drive or Google Photos, they are not automatically removed from the other service. According to Google, "this change will help to prevent accidental deletion of items in different products."
In other words, the automatic link between the two services is removed. Photos and videos exist only in one place. Google is already showing a notification that your "Google Photos folder is changing."
What happens to my photos and videos?
Nothing changes for existing photos and videos. If you currently have photos in Google Drive, they will continue to appear in Google Photos in the future. If you currently have photos in Google Photos, they will continue to appear in the Google Drive folder in the future.
However, new photos uploaded to Google Photos will not appear in Google Drive and new photos uploaded to Google Drive Google Drive will not appear in Google Photos.
How can I move photos from drive to photo?
Google adds a "upload drive" feature to Google Photos. When you visit the Google Photos website, you can choose Upload from Drive to upload photos and videos from your Google Drive account to Google Photos.
After uploading, these photos and videos are not linked. In other words, if you upload a photo of Drive to photos and then delete it on one service, it will not be removed on the other.
This also means you upload a 50 MB video of Drive to photos If you leave it in both locations, you'll need 100 MB of your Google Account storage quota.
Can I still sync Google Photos to my PC or Mac?
Currently, this integration means you can automatically download (sync) all photos and videos added to Google Photos on your PC or Mac. Everything happens through the standard Google Backup and Sync application, which syncs Google Drive files. Just select Google Photos and everything will be synced.
Is this feature no longer supported? It looks like it could. The Google statement states, "You can continue to use Backup and Sync on Windows or Mac OS to upload both services in high quality or original quality."
In other words, Google indicates that you can continue to upload Photos and videos are automatically downloaded from your PC. However, the downloading of photos and videos to your PC is not mentioned. We'll have to see exactly what Google is doing in July, but this feature will apparently be unavailable.
If you need to sync photos to your PC, it may be better to switch to Dropbox or OneDrive on your phone. These services allow you to automatically upload captured photos and then sync them to any other folder on your PC.
Can I automatically upload photos to Google Drive?
The Google Photos application for Android and iPhone will continue to automatically upload photos, if you like – but only on Google Photos. You can no longer automatically upload them and put them in Google Drive – at least not with Google's own applications.
According to Android Police, the Android app for Autosync for Google Drive could help close the gap. Allows you to automatically sync files and folders (including photos) with your Google Drive folder. They will then be synchronized with your PC. It's also a bidirectional sync if you want – you can delete photos or other files in the synced Google Drive folder, and Autosync deletes them in their original location on your Android phone.