If you have a Chrome OS device, including Chromebook, Chromebox, Chromebase, or Chromebit, you will regularly receive software on this device Updates. However, at some point, you'll no longer see any Chromebook updates. But when will that be?
Thankfully, it's very easy to find out when your particular Chrome OS device will no longer receive updates. It is even better that many older devices continue to receive updates until at least 2020. Therefore, it is very likely that your device is still a long time to date.
Before We Begin Reviewing Your Chromebook update schedule, we'll go over a few terms. Each Chrome OS device receives updates directly from Google until the device reaches Auto Update Expiration (AUE) status. Each device has a pre-scheduled AUE date. After this date, the device will no longer receive updates.
Your Chrome OS device is still working after the AUE date. You do not lose your data and do not have to buy a new device. The AUE date simply means that your device will no longer receive any Chromebook updates and will no longer see any new software features. The security risk is slightly higher because the latest security patches are no longer available.
See also: Here are the best Chromebooks you can currently buy
AUE date, you need to know the brand and model of your device. The make is usually quite easy to determine. Just look at the lid and you will probably see the name of the OEM right there.
The model is also usually easy to find, usually on the bottom of the device. Once you have make and model, you can choose your AUE date!
How to Check When Chromebook Updates Stop
- First, use a web browser on any device (not your Chromebook) and call the automatic update policy page for Chrome OS by clicking here.
- Look in the list for the OEM who made your Chrome OS device.
- Click or touch the company name to see a list of all Chrome OS devices launched by this company.
- Find your model in this list and look to the right of the name. There should be a date, which is the AUE date for your Chromebook updates.
As mentioned earlier, after this date, you will no longer receive updates next to your device name. Your device will continue to function as intended, but no new features or security updates will be displayed.